A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Leprechaun Trap March 17, 2011

Filed under: Things To Do — Lizz @ 7:41 am
Tags: ,

Skylar asked me a few days ago if we could make a leprechaun trap.  I was tickled that she even knew what that was!  So of course I agreed, and told her that we would set it up Wednesday night when all the St Patrick’s Day leprechauns come out to play.  (I know this might be a little late to post this, but if you like this, and you can pull it together, you could still do it tonight with your kids.) (Or husbands.)  Anyways, here’s what we came up with:

.

.

I found a hat and a package that included shamrock stickers, a pencil, and a notebook at our local party store.  I already had some gold coins left over from our last Muffin Tin Meal, so this whole thing cost me less than $2.  (You could also use an empty shoe box, and cover it with green paper, or paint it)  I used a marshmallow as a base for the thick pretzel stick that would hold up our “trap”

.

Skylar decorated the hat with the stickers, and helped me set out the gold coins to lure the leprechaun in.  She wasn’t so sure that we were going to catch anything, but I assured her that our trap was really well made.

.

ZZZzzzz……

.

Look what happened!

.

.

Looks like our leprechaun friend showed up after all!  And left a huge mess!!  I wonder if we caught him in our trap?!?!

.

.

Oh No!  Looks like he found the pencil and notebook (wink!) and left us a little note.  We didn’t catch him, but there’s always next year!

.

I hope you all have a great St Patrick’s Day!  Since Thursdays are a really bad day for us, schedule wise, we’re celebrating a little late and doing our Irish dinner on Friday instead.  Check back because, surprise surprise, I’m trying something new!

.

Have a great rest of the week!

.

Lizz

.

I am submitting this fun little project to a few linky parties:

.

.
Tip Junkie handmade projects
.

.

 

7 Responses to “Leprechaun Trap”

  1. so cute! i love the idea of using the St Patrick’s Day hat. adorable!

  2. Judith Says:

    I have two little one’s that would just love this. It is nice to have other idea’s besides the tooth fairy,advent calendars, etc.

    jbkazooty

  3. Petertos Says:

    Hi, my name is Petertos, and I’m a professional leprechaun hunter. I catch leprechauns, although it is not an easy job! Your traps seem so good, but my experience is that these home made traps don’t usually help much in chatching them, because they are so elusive and clever. I can give you some resources on how to truly catch a leprechaun. You can watch this Youtube video or visit my Website to find some funny animated leprechaun GIFs. I hope this helps, Petertos

  4. […] 2. A Little Bit of This & That […]

  5. […] Leprechaun Trap DIY Idea […]


Leave a comment