A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Puff Pastry for my Valentine February 13, 2011

Filed under: Food — Lizz @ 12:02 am
Tags: , ,

.

I have been wanting to try something for a while: working with puff pastry.  It has always seemed so fancy and complicated, but after this little project, I am not longer intimidated.  I have seen many versions of this recipe online lately, but most are using pie crust.  You can fill it with whatever you want really, but we went with something a little unusual.

.

Peanut Butter and Nutella Valentine Pastry

.

You will need:

  • 1 package of frozen puff pastry, thawed
  • peanut butter
  • nutella
  • egg wash (1 egg beaten with 1 tbsp water)

.

Start by unrolling your puff pastry out onto your floured surface.  You will need a heart shaped cookie cutter (or a different shape if desiered).  Cut out an even number of hearts.

.

.

.

Add some peanut butter and nutella to the center of one of the hearts, leaving the edges untouched.

.

.

Brush some egg wash along the edges of pastry.  Cover with another heart, and use a fork to seal the top and bottom pastry around the whole heart.

.

.

Brush the top with a little more egg wash.  If desired, use a smaller heart cookie cutter to make another heart, and add to the top (egg wash that too).  You should end up with something like this…

.

.

Bake at 375 degrees for approx 10-12 minutes, or until the pastries are nice and puffy, and the tops are slightly browned.

.

.

Aren’t they so cute?  They also taste really good.  I think that next time I might sprinkle a little sugar on top to give it a little hint of sweet.

.

I am posting this treat as part of JDaniel4’s Mom’s Virtual Valentine’s Party.  If you want to see some other fun Valentines related ideas, you should really check it out!

.

.

I am planning to post again later today, with the valentines we have been making for Skylar’s classmates and teachers, so I hope you all come back to see it!  Have a great rest of the weekend!

.

Lizz

 

3 Responses to “Puff Pastry for my Valentine”

  1. Oh my gosh – that looks so tasty! I love the additional smaller heart on top. It looks so cool. My kids would gobble these up!

  2. I bet these taste wonderful! My husband loves Nutella.

    Thank you so much for linking to the Virtual Valentine’s Day Party on my blog. Please take a moment between now and the end of the party Monday night to visit a few of the other party guests. I would love to everyone who linked up to have other guests stop by for a visit.

    Remember if you visit two guests and leave me a comment that you did you could win a $15 Visa Gift Card.

  3. […] I found the idea for the hot dog at a wonderful new site I came across recently called Making Memories.  If you want to know how to make the PB/Nutella Pastry, find the original post here. […]


Leave a comment