A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Gluten Free Friday – Yum Yum Brownie Muffins July 1, 2011

.

Welcome to Gluten Free Friday!

.

If you are just joining us, don’t worry you haven’t missed much yet.  We’re very new to the whole Celiac Disease/Gluten Free lifestyle, but very excited to share what we’ve been learning.  If you would like to catch up on the GF Fridays you’ve missed, *Click Here*

.

Since the last few posts have been very information heavy, I figured it was time for a recipe.  A really really easy recipe.  A recipe with only 2 ingredients.  Yes, 2!  It also has chocolate, and low calories.  Could it get any better than that??

.

I have recently started watching a show called Hungry Girl.  She is an amazing blogger that actually made it to TV.  Her whole concept is making meals and treats that are hearty, filling, and easy on the waistline.  I couldn’t love her more!  While watching one night, I saw her make the most amazing chocolate muffins, and I knew I could very easily adapt it to make it GF.  So, I give you…

.

Yum Yum Brownie Muffins

(recipe adapted from Hungry Girl)

.

Ingredients:

.

  • 1 bag of Gluten Free Brownie Mix (I used Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1 can of pure pumpkin

.

Uh huh.  That’s it.

.

The pumpkin is just pumpkin, not pumpkin pie mix.  This is important if you are going for the low-cal thing.  The lovely-est thing about this ingredient are the magic words I found on the back.

.

.

“Naturally Gluten Free”.  Music to my ears.

.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Put the brownie mix and the pumpkin in a bowl.  Do not add in anything else, not even the items it says to add with the brownie mix.  Just brownie and pumpkin.  And now, mix.

.

.

And mix.

.

.

Then find slave labor to mix.

.

.

When Slave #1 says it’s too hard, find more slave labor.

.

.

When it’s finally mixed, gather up your muffin makin’ items.  I usually go with a muffin tin and liners, but I decided to use our silicone flower cups this time.  I’ve had them for a while, and have used them a lot, just not for muffins. (see what I’m talking about *here*)

.

.

Use an ice cream scoop to fill your cups.  Cook for about 20 minutes until a toothpick comes out clear.

.

Now here’s the interesting part.  Can you tell which one of these is the before, and which is the after?

.

or

.

Yeah they look exactly the same to me.  They didn’t rise, or even move.  I wish I would have filled them a little nicer, but oh well.

.

The end result was something almost fudgy, but not too sweet.

.

.

This got two thumbs up and two big toes up from Skylar.  That’s basically the highest marks you could get from her.

.

So there we have a wonderful, chocolate-y, quick, easy, breakfast treat.  And according to Hungry Girl, this baby clocks in at around 180 calories per muffin.  Yeah!

.

Now if you’re like me, and love the sweets, I have some plans for when I try these muffins again.  I will definitely throw low-cal out the window and  try this with the pie filling instead.  Or I could try adding some mini chocolate chips.  Or both.  Mmmm….

.

I hope we have you drooling for our newest GF recipe. I am definitely starting to learn that there are tons of recipes out there that I can easily adapt for my kiddo’s belly.

.

Thank you for stopping by and have a Wonderful Gluten Free Weekend!

.

Lizz

.

**UPDATE** – So even though I wanted a little more sugaryness in this recipe, apparently Skylar could care less.  She has eaten these muffins every day for breakfast since we made them.  I call that a win!!

.

I will be linking to these parties:

Sensational Sunday @ What’s for Dinner?

Link and Learn @ No Time for Flashcards

Craft-O-Maniac Monday Link Party @ Craft-O-Maniac

Craftastic Monday @ Sew Can Do

Inspire Me Monday @ Singing Three Little Birds

Playdate @ Beneath the Rowan Tree

Tip Me Tuesday @ Tip Junkie

Too Cute Tuesday @ Funky Polka Dot Giraffe

Tuesday Time Out @ Reasons to Skip the Housework

Tuesday Confessional @ Confessions of a Stay at Home Mommy

Linkin’ with Lil’ Luna @ Lil’ Luna

Gluten Free Wednesday @ The Gluten Free Homemaker

Will See it Wednesday @ Fabric Bows and More

Thrifty Thursday @ Thrifty 101

Creative Juices Thursday @ Momnivore’s Dilemma

Under $100 Linky Party @ Beyond the Picket Fence

Strut Your Stuff @ Somewhat Simple

For the Kids Friday @ Sun Scholars

Feature Yourself Friday @ Fingerprints on the Fridge

Simply Link @ Simply Designing

Party Mindie Style @ Bacon Time with the Hungry Hungry Hypo

Creative Bloggers Party and Hop @ Homemaker on a Dime

 

10 Responses to “Gluten Free Friday – Yum Yum Brownie Muffins”

  1. Macy Says:

    Yum! I would love it if you would link up to my Tuesday Confessional link party going on now: http://www.craftyconfessions.com/2011/07/tuesday-confessional-link-up-2.html. I hope to see you soon!
    ~Macy from Confessions of a SAHM

    • Lizz Says:

      Thanks for the invite! I have linked up to your party, and added it to my party list. Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you keep coming back for more!

  2. AH! This is such a simply yet genius recipe! Thanks so much for sharing! (And thanks to your family for slave labor, haa!)

    -Carly
    http://www.createliveblog.com

  3. Macy Says:

    Thanks for linking up to Tuesday Confessional this week! You were featured, so grab a button and get your brag on! http://www.craftyconfessions.com/2011/07/as-i-write-this-i-am-having-major-sugar.html
    I can’t wait to see what you wow us with next week.
    ~Macy

  4. […] Apparently, Skylar wasn’t the only one that loved these Yum Yum Brownie Muffins.  […]

  5. The Creative Bloggers’ Party & Hop became the coolest party on the block because of your participation. Thank you!

  6. I love the look of the chocolate brownies.

    Me thinks I will try them

    🙂


Leave a comment