A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

String Nest April 27, 2011

Filed under: Art Projects — Lizz @ 12:18 pm
Tags: , ,

Before we get to today’s fun, I wanted to announce our total from the Online Flea Market that was held on Friday.  As most of you will remember, all the money raised has been donated to the Pancreatic Cancer Action Network.  Are you ready for the total??

.

The Flea Market Raised an amazing $566!!!

.

Thank you so much to everyone that bid on all of the wonderful items, and I especially would like to thank the three lovely ladies that purchased my flowers:

Kelly from Cedar Park, TX

Wendy from Wheeling, IL

Kelly from Morton Grove, IL

.

I hope you all enjoy your flower clips as much as we do!

.

If you missed the flea market but want to contribute, there is still time! The PurpleStride Chicago 2011 5K run/walk is this Saturday.  I will be walking with Team Ripple, in remembrance of the wonderful Steve Omilinsky.  If you are interested in making a donation to help our team raise money for this worthy event, please *Click Here* to see my donation page.  Remember, every little bit helps!

.

.

Okay, now on to the fun part of the day…Making a nest out of string!

.

First, gather your stuff.  I know I always say that, but in this case, it’s important.  Once you get glue on your hands, you aren’t going to want to rummage around for anything.  Trust me.

.

(I also have the items for chalkboard eggs in this photo)

.

You will need:

  • A bowl about the size that you want your nest to be (width wise. It’s okay if it’s taller)
  • Clear plastic wrap
  • String or twine
  • Mod Podge
  • Another smaller bowl (to hold glue)
  • Newspaper, or table covering
  • Scissors

After you cover your workspace with the newspaper (and marvel at just how “busy” those supermarket ads really are), you will need to make a glue solution.  I didn’t measure this, but it’s easy to eyeball.  Pour some Mod Podge into your smaller glue bowl.  Add a little water and mix it up until it’s the consistency of milk.  It will look like milk too.  Don’t drink it.

.

Next, take your nest-shaped bowl, and turn it upside down.  Cover it completely with plastic wrap.  Grab your string and you will be ready to go.

.

.

You may notice a lack of process photos for the next few steps.  Remember how I said you won’t want to touch anything when your fingers are gluey?  That includes fancy cameras.  This is probably a good part to have the kids do, and I probably shouldn’t have done it myself at midnight.  Insomnia…grrr…..

.

Anyways, I digress…Cut the string into long pieces.  You will have to judge this one on your own.  You don’t want them short, but too long is hard to handle.  Take your cut string and submerge it in your glue solution.  Give it a minute or two to soak.  Then, find the end piece.  As you pull the string out of the glue, run it through your pinched fingers to squeeze out the excess liquid.  Then lay your string all over the plastic wrap covered bowl.  Repeat this process until you get a nest-looking thing like this:

.

.

Let this dry overnight.  The next day, you can flip the bowl over, and peel off the plastic wrap.  You will be left with this:

.

.

A nest!

.

Now you have a lovely place to put those amazing chalkboard eggs I showed you yesterday.  Did you miss them?  Check them out *here*.  I think this nest would look lovely with just about anything in it.  If you try this, let me know what you put in it.  I would love to see it!

.

Have a wonderful day everyone!

.

Lizz

.

I will be submitting this project to the following link-up parties:

(Please click the links to see the other amazing projects too!)

.

DIY Thrifty Thursday @ Thrifty 101

Creative Juices @ Momnivore’s Dilemma

For the Kids Friday @ Sun Scholar’s Blog

Link and Learn @ No Time for Flashcards

Made by You Mondays @ Skip to my Lou

CraftOManiac Mondays @ CraftOManiac

Inspire Me Mondays @ Singing Three Little Birds

Craftastic Monday @ Sew Can Do

I Wear My Crafty Pants on Monday with Miss Craft Pants
Tip Me Tuesday @ Tip Junkie
Tuesday Time-Out @ Reasons to Skip the Housework

Too Cute Tuesday @ Funky Polka Dot Giraffe

.