A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Chalkboard Eggs April 26, 2011

Filed under: Art Projects — Lizz @ 2:31 pm
Tags: , ,

I showed you all a little preview of this craft a few days ago.  I know it’s already after easter, but I think this could very easily be adapted to make it work all year round.  I think it even works as is!  I’m going to show you how I made the eggs today, and how I made the nest tomorrow.  I don’t want to overwhelm.

.

As always, you will first need to gather your supplies:

  • Chalkboard spraypaint
  • Chalk
  • fine sandpaper (if needed)
  • Something disposable to hold items (i.e. empty egg carton)
  • Craft Eggs (oversized not-real eggs) – this is where you could adapt this project.  You can use anything made out of wood or plastic that you want to make into a chalkboard.

.

Once you have all these things, you will need to find a safe and appropriate place to do your project.  As I live in an apartment building, I decided to go out into the grassy area in the parking lot.  Remember, since you are using spray paint, grassy/dirt areas are better than concrete, as to not create spraypaint outlines of your egg carton.  Also remember that if you do this in your apartment’s parking lot grassy area, you will get lots of curious questions like “What are you doing?”  and “Why are you making black eggs?”.  Don’t worry.  They will be very impressed later.

.

Now, take your eggs, and put them into the empty egg carton, leaving space between them. If your items have a smooth surface, you will want to use the sandpaper to rough up the outside a bit before spraypainting, so the paint adheres better.

.

.

Use all of your good spraypaint techniques (like keep the can 8-12 inches or so away from the object, and spray in short burst, so you don’t get drips) and cover the top half of the eggs. (or in this case the bottom since I started with them upside down)  Be aware of the direction of the wind, so the paint doesn’t fly back onto your clothes.

.

.

Wait for them to completely dry, flip them over, and cover the rest.

.

.

While you wait for them to dry again, admire your ability to only get a little smudge of paint on your finger.

.

.

Then walk around your parking lot taking other photos with your new camera that you plan to show off at another time.  Or whatever you want to do.

.

You will now have this lovely looking centerpiece: (umm…once I do the tutorial for the nest part)

.

.

But just wait…it gets better!

.

.

Tada! How fun!!

.

The best part about these is that the chalk can be wiped off, and re-done as many times as you want.  My kiddo immediately erased my (ahem) professional-grade artistry, and created her own awesome designs (which I didn’t photograph. Bad Blogger!).  She loves the fun of these as much as I love how beautiful (and easy) they are.

.

I would love to know:  Is there anything you are thinking about turning into a chalkboard?  Leave me a comment and let me know!

.

Have a great day everyone!

.

Lizz

.

I will be submitting this project to the following link-up parties:

(Please click the links to see the other amazing projects too!)

.

DIY Thrifty Thursday @ Thrifty 101

Creative Juices @ Momnivore’s Dilemma

For the Kids Friday @ Sun Scholar’s Blog

Link and Learn @ No Time for Flashcards

Made by You Mondays @ Skip to my Lou

CraftOManiac Mondays @ CraftOManiac

Inspire Me Mondays @ Singing Three Little Birds

Craftastic Monday @ Sew Can Do

I Wear My Crafty Pants on Monday with Miss Craft Pants
Tip Me Tuesday @ Tip Junkie
Tuesday Time-Out @ Reasons to Skip the Housework
Too Cute Tuesday @ Funky Polka Dot Giraffe
.

 

6 Responses to “Chalkboard Eggs”

  1. Andrea Says:

    Here from Chickadee Blog Hoppp…love your craft ideas!! Great site!!

    Andrea
    http://www.addicted2tutes.blogspot.com

    • Lizz Says:

      Thanks Andrea! Glad you stopped by. Not only do I love the name of your blog (I’m totally addicted too!!), but I love your projects!

  2. […] also have the items for chalkboard eggs in this […]

  3. anamazingchild Says:

    Is there nothing you can’t do with chalkboard paint?? 🙂 I just love these. We made chalkboard blocks. They are so much fun and my little man just loves them. Here’s the link if you want to pop over and have a look:

    http://bit.ly/gDBgQK

    Hopped over here from No Time for Flashcards. Looking forward to having more of a look around 🙂

    Kate

  4. Jen Says:

    what a great idea! I’ve been wanting to try chalkboard paint – very creative use of it 🙂


Leave a Reply

