A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Muffin Tin Monday – Leaves, Trees, and Harvest November 1, 2010

Filed under: Food — Lizz @ 1:17 am
Tags: , ,

I hope this post finds you all crawling out of your Halloween sugar comas.  Welcome back!  This week’s Muffin Tin Monday theme is Trees, Leaves, and Harvest.  We had a lot of fun making this tin, because we had a guest helping us.  Who else, but the amazing Mara from What’s For Dinner.  Mara and her hubby Adam came over on Saturday night for a little cooking, eating, gaming, and laughing.  Check out Mara’s blog for a post about the adult dinner of the evening.  The other perk of having my bestie over for dinner?  She brings her fancy-shmancy camera, and I get to take an amazing picture like this:

.

.

(Isn’t this so much better than my point and shoot camera?!?!  I think I know what I’m asking Santa for this year…)

.

Top Row (left to right): Broccoli Tree Corn Muffin, Apple Tree Ham Sandwich, Chocolate Leaf

Center: Harvest moon cheese

Bottom Row (left to right): Mini Corn Trees with Roasted Brussel Sprout Shrubs, Tree Trunk, Cornucopia with celery, carrots, and grapes.

.

The broccoli corn muffins, chocolate leaf, and roasted brussel sprouts were part of our tin thanks to Mara’s big recipe brain.  She originally saw the broccoli muffins here.  We adapted the recipe by simply using Jiffy corn muffin mix.

.

.

The chocolate leaf was made by painting melted chocolate onto wax paper.  Then we piped melted white chocolate to create the veins.  Once cooled, peel them off the wax paper.

.

.

Skylar ate some of the mini corn, Tom Hanks style.  Hilarious.  The brussel sprouts were not a hit with Skylar, but I really liked them.  Hey, at least she tried!

.

The sandwich was a simple ham sandwich.  I free-handed the tree shape, and added fruit leather circles for apples. The cornucopia was made out of a rolled up tortilla.  It needed to be warmed in order to not break.

.

So, thanks to Mara for your help.  I hope you enjoyed making your first muffin tin meal.

.

If you want to see some other amazing muffin tin meals, check out Muffin Tin Mom’s Site.

.
Muffin Tin Monday at Her Cup Overfloweth

.

Have a great weekend Everyone!

.

Lizz

 

20 Responses to “Muffin Tin Monday – Leaves, Trees, and Harvest”

  1. JDaniel4's Mom Says:

    The cornucopia is so cute. I will have to remember it for Thanksgiving. The broccoli hidden in muffins looks so cool.

  2. mangochild Says:

    I agree, I love the cornucopia! And the way the tree trunks reach across the middle of the muffin tin to make the trunk for the apple tree sandwich.

  3. Jennifer Says:

    Love the tin 🙂 The broccoli corn muffins are a great idea and look delicious!

  4. SnoopyGirl Says:

    Love your tin. The cornecopia is my favorite!

  5. kelly Says:

    The pictures are great. I agree, it really does help to have a decent camera. One feature I am fond of on my camera – which is a fairly newish camera too, is the ‘food’ setting. It really brightens up food photos and makes them look more alive. So that might be something you would want to consider when buying/asking for a new camera. Especially if you take a lot of pictures of food.

    Love the thought you put into this lunch!

  6. I love the cornucopia and your tree! You did a great job with this week’s theme.

  7. love EVERYTHING about this tin, the tortilla cornucopia ia so adorable and the painted choco leaves look so yummy! I love how you did your tree too. And yay for being first!

  8. Jen Says:

    Fantastic tin! I seriously love that tree!

  9. Melissa Says:

    The tree and cornucopia are so adorable! It’s a lovely lunch. 🙂

  10. OMG I’m comment #12! I feel like a proud blog mama 🙂
    I loved making this tin with you, and feel like I should start making them for Adam!

  11. kewkew Says:

    Wow, what an amazing tin. I was going to use pretzels as a tree trunk but decided to use the thin mini ones as twigs instead. I have got to try the broccoli corn bread, looks yummy. And the cornucopia will probably be showing up in our Thanksgiving tin. If it does I will make sure to give you the credit.

  12. Dana Says:

    Very Cute. LOve the chocolate Leafs and cornacopia

  13. Shay Speer Says:

    The cornucopia is wonderful! Very creative!! I love the chocolate leaf & apple tree, too.

  14. Awesome tin! Love the muffins and the cornucopia is so cute! The choco leaves are to die for, will defiantly have to try those out 🙂

  15. VeggieGirl Says:

    Such CUTE treats! Mara is awesome for helping 🙂

  16. Lizz Says:

    Thank you everyone for your very kind words. I’m glad you liked our tin this week. Can’t wait to see what everyone come up with next week!!

  17. […] Muffin Tin Monday. The theme had been “Trees, Leaves and Harvest Time.”  Lizz from A Little Bit of This and That had shared a recipe she found here for Broccoli Tree Corn Muffins. I thought they would be a […]


Leave a comment