A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Gluten Free Friday – Bacon Cheeseburger Parfait April 19, 2013

Oh Gluten Free Friday, how I have missed you…

.

I had something totally different planned for today, but then came across this awesome recipe by Hungry Girl (LOVE her!!), and I knew I needed to do this immejietly.  There is nothing I love more than naturally gluten free meals that Skylar and I will both eat, with the bonus element of fun.  After you excuse my unedited photos (my computer was giving me attitude, and I couldn’t wait to share this one), I give you the Bacon Cheeseburger Parfait:

.

cbparfait

.

OH. MY. GOSH. THAT’S. SO. COOL! (as stated by Skylar)

.

We don’t currently own parfait glasses, so we scoured the shelves for something else fun.  Skylar chose a perfectly sized martini glass (a girl after my own heart), and I picked a larger sangria glass, because I wanted a bigger portion.

.

The absolute best part of this meal is the customizability (new word?).  Just as you would with a normal burger, you can throw whatever toppings you want in here.  We both wanted bacon.  I mean, who wouldn’t, right?!  After checking around, we found that these “Real Bacon Bits” contain no gluten ingredients.  You can find them with the other bacon bits in the non-fridge aisle.  They are a little soft, so we decided to toast them up for crunch.  This is a great alternative to making a big ol’ mess trying to fry up bacon slices just for a little bacon crumble.  Plus they jumped and danced in the pan, which was fun to watch.

.

Image

.

Ingredients (for approx 4 parfaits) (Adapted from Hungry Girl)

  • 1 lb of ground beef
  • salt/pepper/burger seasoning to taste
  • 1 small/medium sweet onion, diced (set some aside if you want raw for toppings)
  • 4 slices of american cheese
  • Instant mashed potatoes (enough for a serving of 4), with all ingredients to make it
  • Burger toppings of your choice: ketchup, mustard, A1, BBQ sauce, pickles, tomato, bacon, avocado, lettuce, raw onion, relish, sautéed mushrooms, ect, ect, ect…

.

Directions

  • Gather, chop, peel, saute, and lay out all of the optional toppings.
  • Put beef, seasoning, and diced onion into a pan, and cook until the meat is brown and the onions are cooked through.
  • Meanwhile, cook the instant mashed potatoes as directed on the box.  When you mix everything together at the end, add a little extra flake to make it a nice thick batch.
  • Start to layer in your glass.  First the meat mixture, covered with a few ripped off pieces of American cheese.  Then add your choice of toppings, and a layer of potatoes to fill the glass halfway.  Repeat to fill the top half.
  • Garnish the top layer of potatoes with a few of your ingredients.
  • Enjoy!

.

Skylar went simple with hers: Cheese, bacon, and pickles.  I, however, went a little on the fun side with cheese, bacon, sautéed mushrooms, avocado, tomatoes, and A1 sauce.

.

Image

.

Total success.  We will definitely do this again.  This would be a great alternative for someone GF at a BBQ.  You could even take a burger from the grill, chop it up, and throw all of this in a bowl. Yum.  Everyone will be jealous.

.

Will I see any of you at the Gluten & Allergen Free Expo this weekend?!  I went to this last year, and it was amazing!  I couldn’t believe not only how many great companies were there sharing their products, but also how many people attended.  They’ve moved it to the Schaumburg Convention Center this year, which is a much larger venue, so I’m sure there’s going to be a ton of great stuff to check out. Woohoo!

.

Have a wonderful Friday Everyone!!

.

Lizz

 

3 Responses to “Gluten Free Friday – Bacon Cheeseburger Parfait”

  1. vegetarianmamma Says:

    What a fun recipe!! You have to come by my site on Friday and link that up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! We are having a Gluten Free Giveaway this week as well 🙂 SO happy to have met you this past weekend 🙂 Miss your smile already! xo Cindy

  2. vegetarianmamma Says:

    This is totally cool, I could do this with beans instead of beef! Awesome! How fun!!! Hope that your week has been great! Were you the one telling me about the pasta in the refridge section at the store? I forget the name but it was initials, well I found it. Haven’t tried it yet, but will! 🙂 I think that was you telling me! Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! 🙂

    Be sure to stop by to see who the winner of our So Lucky GF Basket is! We are ALSO having a fantastic giveaway this week to kick off Celiac Awareness month! 🙂

    Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

  3. […] Bacon Cheeseburger Parfait via A Little Bit of This and That […]


Leave a Reply

