A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Chalkboard Wine Glasses April 25, 2012

Filed under: Crafts — Lizz @ 12:11 pm
Tags: , , ,

For this past Christmas, my sister came up with an awesome idea of exchanging handmade gifts.  I had such a good time putting my crafty skills to work, and the gifts were so personal and unique.  I (obviously) couldn’t post them before the holidays, so I saved them for a bit.  With Mother’s Day approaching, I thought now would be a good time to share.  And I will be starting with the gift I made for my mama…chalkboard wine glasses.

.

I went to the blue and yellow beacon (more commonly known as IKEA), and got some simple wine glasses, and one of their cardboard glass holders to wrap them in later.  Since I planned on only making the base of the glass into chalkboard, I used masking tape to tape a nice straight line at the bottom of the stem.

.

.

Then I used some saran wrap to cover the top of the glass completely, and taped that as well, leaving only the base exposed.

.

.

Then next part has no photos since I was by myself, spray painting.  But it’s pretty easy.  Get a can of chalkboard spray paint (available at hardware and craft stores).  Hold the glass by the top (I recommend wearing gloves and long sleeves), and spray the base of the glass on both the top and bottom.  Be sure that you are holding the can about 12 inches away from the glass, and spray in short spurts, so you don’t get runny parts.  Place the glass upside down to dry completely.  Do a second coat.

.

Once completely dried, peel off all of the tape and wrapping.

.

.

They turned out great!!  Now nobody will lose their glasses during a party!

.

I seemed to not have taken a picture of the wrapped product, but I just put a few pieces of chalk and curled ribbons into each glass, and Skylar made holiday chalk drawings on each of them.  I put them into the cardboard glass holder and put the whole thing into a bag.  Very cute!

.

Have a wonderful day everyone!

.

Lizz

.

If you would like to pin this on Pinterest, just click the button:  

 

2 Responses to “Chalkboard Wine Glasses”

  1. Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you been blogging
    for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is magnificent, as well as the content!

  2. I needed to thank you for this very good read!

    ! I definitely enjoyed every bit of it. I’ve got you book marked to check out new stuff you post…


Leave a Reply

