A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Gluten Free Friday – GoPicnic November 11, 2011

Welcome to Gluten Free Friday!!

.

I have a really awesome product to share today, but let me backstory for a second…

.

Did you read my post about the awesome Celiac Center Fundraiser at Wildfire?  No?  Well, check it out *here* if you missed it.  I’ll wait…….Okay, so one of the best parts from that night was chit chatting with the other folks at our table.  There was lots of tips being traded, and I did promise you that I would share them with you as I tried them out. So…

.

One of the lovely ladies I met was Charlotte, who’s been writing a cute little blog called A Gluten Free Journey Through Motherhood/Wifedom.  One of her recommendations was a product called GoPicnic, that she discovered while on a layover in the airport.  She described it as a lunchable for grownups.  I was intrigued enough to look it up as soon as I got home.

.

GoPicnic meals are literally a meal in a box.  And just as Charlotte described, they are very similar to lunchables, but with a few major differences.  First of all, they are a healthier, more natural meal choice.  I also noticed that they did not need to be refrigerated, a huge bonus in my eyes.  While not all of their meals are gluten free, they do have 6 GF options.  They also have vegan, vegetarian, and kosher meals.  Awesome!

.

         

(source)
 .

Now, it’s a little hard to see in those small pictures, but the top left-hand corner of the box is where you will find those all important words, “Gluten Free”, if that particular meal is as such. (or vegan, or kosher, ect.)

.

After getting all excited over the possibility of a quick on-the-go meal for Skylar, I checked the store locator to see where I might find them.  To my surprise…Target!!  I thought for sure it was going to be a hard to find, but nope. 

.

.

And check out that price tag!!  $3.99!!  My biggest complaint about GF foods is how expensive they can be, and these puppies aren’t much more than a regular lunchable.  I stocked up, and brought them home to show Skylar.  She was so excited, and we even used one to eat in the car on our way to the circus.  (To be honest, it wasn’t her favorite, but she did choose the hummus one first, which I think requires a bit of an adult palate.  I am very confident that she will like the other two, as they are things she eats on a regular basis).

.

I have really missed the ability to just run over to the nearest fast food joint to grab a quick bite.  These things are great to keep in the car for emergencies, since they don’t require refrigeration.  (Although, this is Chicago, and our winter temps will keep anything frozen in a car!!)

.

So, have any of you found a great on-the-go meal option yet?  Care to share?  Leave a comment and let us know what you’ve found.  Let the recommendations flow!!

.

Have a great weekend everyone!!

.

Lizz

 

One Response to “Gluten Free Friday – GoPicnic”

  1. dieta Says:

    GoPicnic meals are literally a meal in a box. And just as Charlotte described, they are very similar to lunchables, but with a few major differences. First of all, they are a healthier, more natural meal choice. I also noticed that they did not need to be refrigerated, a huge bonus in my eyes. While not all of their meals are gluten free, they do have 6 GF options. They also have vegan, vegetarian, and kosher meals. Awesome!


Leave a Reply

