A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

A Car-Load of Fun November 2, 2011

Filed under: Tips — Lizz @ 11:03 am
Tags:

Is it just me, or is Pintrest taking over your lives too?  I have gotten so many ideas from that site that I created a whole board of things I want to make.  And I’ve actually been making them!  I feel a Pintrest post coming on soon, but first I have a great little tip I picked up that has worked wonders in my car.

.

All parents understand the horror that is a long car ride.  Anything over 15 minutes, and you start getting “Are we there yet?”, “I’m bored”, “I’m hungry”, “Are we there yet?”.  Blood pressure rises, deep breathing begins, and bam!  The car ride has turned into a horrible experience. 

.

It doesn’t need to be this way.  Kids just need a little entertainment.  Here’s a fantastic solution that you can just leave in the car, so you never forget to bring stuff with you…

.

.

(Clockwise from the top left): Sunglasses, empty tissue box for garbage, coloring books, composition notebook, Wooly Willie, reading materials, colored pencils, regular pencils, pens, crayons, Nintendo DS, tissues, and wet wipes.

.

All of this is packed into one of those handled containers you can find in the cleaning aisle.  This way it can easily be carried to the trunk when you need some space, or inside to switch out the goodies. 

.

My daughter hops in the car, and immediately starts pulling out things to entertain herself.  She loves the notebook, and likes to write her “secrets” in it.  She also knows that she needs to put everything right back where it was before we get to our destination (I give a 5 minute clean up warning).

.

I love the tissues/wet wipes/garbage areas.  How many times do you have to reach your arm into the backseat to take care of those issues?  I’ve made it a habit to empty the garbage box while I fill up my gas tank.

.

I Love Love Love this car activity basket.  It’s made my car trips so easy.  Happy Child = Happy Mommy.

.

I’m always looking for different things to put in our container.  What would you put in a car activity basket?

.

Happy Wednesday everyone!

.

Lizz

.

P.S. Are you curious what a Woolie Willie is?  You can’t really see it in the picture above, but it’s that magnetic game where you try to put hair on the bald guy?  Great for car rides!

(source)

 

2 Responses to “A Car-Load of Fun”

  1. […] Willie, and I wrote about  it in a post where I made a basket of car activities (check it out *here*).  Had I not known what this person was talking about, this would have been a little […]

  2. […] Willie, and I wrote about  it in a post where I made a basket of car activities (check it out *here*).  Had I not known what this person was talking about, this would have been a little […]


Leave a Reply

