A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Gluten Free Friday – Stuffed Peppers October 28, 2011

Filed under: Food,Gluten Free Friday — Lizz @ 12:27 pm
Tags: , ,

Welcome to Gluten Free Friday!

.

I’m sure some of you have been missing us…right?  Well, I was traveling, then followed that up by getting sick.  I’m finally feeling better, and finally ready to get back to some bloggin’!  I have a yummy meal to share with you, that will not only satisfy your GF eaters, but everyone else too!  Stuffed Peppers!

.

(My apologies for a blurry picture. Bad Blogger!)

.

I remember eating these when I was a kid, and I love them, but I will admit…I actually don’t like peppers.  Yeah I know that’s weird.  I just eat the insides, but it doesn’t taste the same if it’s not baked inside the pepper.  Plus it’s fun to dig your food out of a pepper bowl.  I guess it’s good to have a pepper lover with you that will eat yours.

.

I made these with the awesome Mara.  Well, really she made them while I took pictures and offered up my daughter for help.

.

(No, she doesn’t have some sort of weird disease…she still has face paint on from Superhero Club…which is an awesome idea by the way…)

.

If you have ever read Mara’s blog, What’s for Dinner?, you probably know that with Mara, measuring is optional.  Yeah, she’s that good.  Me, I need some structure in order to cook well.  So without the benefit of an actual recipe to follow, I will be speaking in hypotheticals and -ishes a bit, and leaving the measurements up to your discretion.

.

First, you will need to cook up some rice of your choice (we used brown rice).  Cook it just enough that it’s not hard, but don’t over cook it.  Then you will combine these things in a bowl:

.

1 lb ground beef (uncooked)

Rice (cooked)

Diced onion

Garlic powder

Oregano

Salt

Tomato sauce

.

It should look something like this:

.

.

Next, cut the tops off 4-5 peppers, and remove all the seeds.  Fill each pepper with the meat mixture, and pack it tightly.  Top with a little more tomato sauce and some parmesan cheese.  Place into a baking dish where you can stand all of the peppers upright-ish.  I promise they will try to fall down.

.

.

We baked ours at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes.

.

(See? I told you they want to fall down!)

.

And we chose to make a little corn too.  Add a little extra sauce to the plate, and voila!

.

.

Yum Yum Yum!

.

Have a great weekend everyone!

.

Lizz

 

.

 

Leave a Reply

