A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Gluten Free Friday – Apple Cobbler Surprise September 30, 2011

Filed under: Food — Lizz @ 7:29 am
Tags: , ,

Welcome to Gluten Free Friday!!

.

After our little apple picking adventure, I realized that we have a lot of apples now.  And one can only eat so many apples.  Time to get cooking.

.

I called up my baking guru, Mara, and asked her to share with me her recipe for cobbler topping.  We had made this together once, and it was really good.  And easy.  My favorite combo.

.

She calls this topping Cup Cup Stick:

  • 1 cup of flour
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 1 stick of butter

Mix until crumbly

.

See? I told you it was easy!!

.

Now it’s time to create some cobbler!

.

.

First, gather stuff.  You will need your Cup Cup Stick ingredients, and in our case, that meant grabbing some gluten free flour.  I decided to give Pamela’s Baking and Pancake Mix a shot here.  I’ve already made awesome pancakes, so it seems like a good choice for a pre-mixed GF flour.  You will also need whatever you want to go on the inside.  I needed apples, cinnamon, brown sugar, and raspberries.

.

First I peeled and chopped up the apples.  I mixed half with a brown sugar/cinnamon mix.  There’s no special measurements here.  Just go until it tastes good to you.

.

.

I decided to use a large cup muffin tin (does it look familiar?  See I do use it to cook too!) so I could create 2 different kinds of individual cobblers.

.

.

Since I knew this would be cooking for a long time, I re-thought putting those raspberries in right away, and removed them for the first bout of cooking time.

.

I put those into the oven for 30 minutes at 350 degrees.

.

in the meantime, I put together the Cup Cup Stick

.

.

After the half hour was done, I added the raspberries back in, and covered each section with the crumbled topping.  Back into the oven for another half an hour.

.

So, at this point you may be wondering what exactly is the “surprise” part of this recipe.  Here it is…

.

.

.

SURPRISE!!!  It’s a disaster!!

.

Just when the kitchen was starting to smell good, and I could hear some sizzling, I thought I would check on my creation.  What I found was a far cry from the lovely crumbly browned cobbler I was seeing in my head.  And that sizzling sound was coming from the bottom of my oven, which was now burning, smoking, and stinky.

.

Cobbler Fail.

.

So why would I show this to you?  Why would I dedicate a Gluten Free Friday to a mess of a dessert?  Well, there are 2 reasons.

.

First…I have read in so many place that gluten free baking is very difficult.  I jumped into this dish thinking I was going to figure it out, no problem.  What I have failed to understand is that GF flour is not wheat flour.  It doesn’t act the same.  There has to be some trial and error.  I have made several batches of cookies that have bombed worse than this dish, and I get upset every time.  I’m finally realizing that I need to learn how to bake gluten free, and remember that it’s a whole different ball game.  I hope that by showing you my ah ha moment, you will not be hard on yourself if you come across the same problems.  But I hope you don’t =)

.

The second reason for showing you this is that even though it looked all crazy and messy, this dessert tasted pretty darn good.  I’m not entirely sure what happened with my (non-)crumble, but it turned into something that tasted almost like caramel.  So even though it wasn’t really cobbler…or pretty…

.

.

…when everyone says they love it, and gobble down their share, I call that a modified win!

.

I guess when life throws you a destroyed cobbler, you should make a caramely/apple-cinnamony/raspberry-y treat!

.

Have a great weekend everyone!!

.

Lizz

 

2 Responses to “Gluten Free Friday – Apple Cobbler Surprise”


Leave a Reply

