A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Gluten Free Friday – Southwesty Crock Pot Chicken September 23, 2011

Filed under: Food,Gluten Free Friday — Lizz @ 11:57 am
Tags: , ,

Welcome to Gluten Free Friday! 

.

And…Welcome to the first day of Fall!! Hurray!!

.

Today I have another yummy crock pot meal to share with you that I found over at The Larson Lingo.  I stuck with the same ingredients, but since the lovely Mel mentioned that it was a little soupy, I made a few modifications.  Mainly, I thawed the chicken first.  This gave me the chance to trim it as well.  So anyways…let’s get to it!!

.

.

Ingredients

  • 2 lbs of chicken breast
  • 1 8 oz. brick of cream cheese
  • 1 can of corn (drained)
  • 1 can of black beans (rinsed and drained)
  • 1 can of rotel (optional: slightly drain)

.

Put everything into the crock pot.  (You cannot see it, but the chicken is under all that yummyness)

.

.

Cook on Low for 6-8 hours.  Stir halfway through.  About 45 minutes before you are ready to serve, shred the chicken and return it to the pot.

.

.

We chose to serve it over brown rice, but I think this would be amazing on nacho chips too.  Season as you see fit.  If you like a spicy kick in your food, you could add a little hot sauce or chili powder.

.

.

It does look a little beige because of the cream cheese, but don’t let that fool you.  This is bursting with flavor!

.

I was expecting lots of leftovers, but we all went back for seconds so there was just one little container to put in our fridge.  Looks like this meal will grace our tables again in the near future!

.

Have a wonderful Fall weekend everyone!!

.

Lizz

.

I’m trying something new here….If you love pintrest as much as I do, and you love this recipe and want to add it to your pintrest collection, click below!

Pin It

 

2 Responses to “Gluten Free Friday – Southwesty Crock Pot Chicken”

  1. Thanks! My BIL is now GF so I will have to keep this in my meal ideas.


Leave a Reply

