A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Gluten Free Friday – Celiac VS. Happy Meal September 9, 2011

When we found out that Skylar has Celiac Disease, we immediately started researching where she would be able to eat.  Just because a food is naturally gluten free does not mean that it hasn’t been contaminated.  For example, french fries are basically just potatoes, and therefore gluten free.  When you get them in a restaurant however, there is a very good chance that they are going to fry them in the same oil as breaded foods, i.e. chicken nuggets.  Now those fries are no good.  When I heard about all of this, I very specifically sighed over the fact that I could never really treat my daughter to McDonald’s again.

.

All kids love this place.  We as parents know that it’s not the least bit healthy, but for a special treat, why not?  And what’s the best part of going to McDonald’s for a kid?  Yeah, it’s the prize in the happy meal.

.

(I miss the old-school box, but they come back every once in a while)

.

I try to not eat things in front of Skylar that she cannot eat, so when it comes to a MickyD’s craving, I do what any caring loving mom would do.  I sneak over there when I don’t have her with me.

.

On my last sneak mission, I saw that the toy in the happy meal is a key chain with a Twinkle Toe shoe on it (sneakers made by Sketchers that are just covered in glitter and jewels).  Skylar has been begging for a pair, but I just can’t justify the price ($35-$50?!?!  I’m dying to find a good sale or coupon).  Pair a mini Twinkle Toe shoe with Skylar’s love of key chains, I knew she would LOVE to have one of these.

.

But I can’t order a happy meal with no kid.  I mean I could, but I’m there for a Big Mac and large fry people!  So I finally worked up the courage to ask if they would ever give one away.  The nice lady I was speak with said she couldn’t do that, but they do sell them for 90 cents.  What?!  Less than a dollar to make my kid’s day?  You got it!!

.

.

Once they gave me the bag with the toy, I had a thought.  Who says my kid can’t come to McDonald’s anymore?  If we are going with others, or even for the occasional party, why not bring our own safe food, and stick it in the bag for her.  Now she can still get the McDonald’s experience, without the stomach pain and GI issues that would surely follow.

.

This may not seem like a huge revelation, but it really was exciting for me.  I will do anything I can do to make my daughter feel normal, and this whole concept of being able to buy McDonald’s toys works for me.

.

.

So there you have the little tiny shoe key chain (whose jeweled toes light up) that made my daughter squeal with excitement.  She waited so patiently so I could take a few pictures, before running off to add the key chain to her backpack.  And she didn’t even ask why there wasn’t any food in the bag. 

.

Happy Girl = Happy Mom

.

Oh, and check out this fun little bonus…

.

.

Stickers, a code to add Twinkle Toe Shoes to your mPal (Don’t know what that is yet, but it looks like some sort of online character you can create), and a 30% off coupon for real Twinkle Toe shoes!!  Looks like this little sneaky trip to McD’s might result in a little girl getting the shoes she wants so desperately.

.

So, for those of you with gluten free kids, what sort of things do you do to help them feel like they aren’t missing out on anything?  I’d love to hear about it!

.

Have a great Twinkle Toes weekend everyone!!

.

Lizz

 

2 Responses to “Gluten Free Friday – Celiac VS. Happy Meal”

  1. Tammy Says:

    I would do the same!!


Leave a Reply

