A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Gluten Free Friday – Crock Pot Hawaiian Chicken September 2, 2011

***NOTE***

It was pointed out to me that the bbq sauce used in the recipe is, in fact, NOT gluten free.  ‘Tis a shame, but I’m sure that a regular GF BBQ sauce, like Sweet Baby Ray’s, would also taste great.

*****

Things have been really busy around here, between craziness at work, school starting, ect.  I love crock pot meals, but I have one complaint.  They always said it’s so quick, but sometimes the prep required in the morning makes it impossible for me to set things up properly and still get to work on time.  Well, today I have a super yummy, 3 ingredient dish I found over at Six Sister’s Stuff.  I modified the methods a bit, but stuck with the original ingredients.

.

Hawaiian Crock Pot Chicken

.

Ingredients:

  • 4-6 Boneless Chicken Breasts (thawed and trimmed)
  • 1 Bottle of Archer’s Farms Hawaiian Style Barbecue Sauce (from Target)
  • 1 (20 oz.) Can of Pineapple Chunks, Drained

.

Directions:

1) Put your chicken in the crock pot.  I prefer to thaw mine, so I can trim it.  This can be done the evening before.  (If that doesn’t bother you, to make this meal even easier, you can use frozen chicken.)

2) Pour the entire bottle of hawaiian BBQ sauce over the chicken.

3) Cook on low for 6-7 hours (or on high for 3-4 hours)

4) 1 hour before you are ready to eat, shred the chicken and return it to the crock pot.

5) Add the drained pineapple, and cook for remaining hour.

.

Once done, you should have something like this:

.

.

We chose to serve ours over brown rice (our favorite vehicle for these sort of meals!), with a side of edamame.

.

.

This was a delicious and easy meal.  There was a ton left over too, and it tasted just as good the next day.  I will definately keep this one on hand.

.

Do you have any good quick crock pot meals that your family goobles up?  I would love to hear about it!

.

Have a wonderful holiday weekend everyone!

.

Lizz

.

I’m sharing this yummy dish at the following parties:

For the Kids Friday @ Sun Scholar’s

Simply Link Party @ Simply Designing

Party Mindie Style @ Bacon Time with the Hungry Hungry Hypo

Delicately Constructed Fridays @ Delicately Constructed

 

5 Responses to “Gluten Free Friday – Crock Pot Hawaiian Chicken”

  1. Camille Says:

    Thanks so much for the shout out and sharing our recipe!! We have a link party every Saturday on our blog and we would love to have you come link up!
    Camille @
    SixSistersStuff.blogspot.com

  2. mindie Says:

    Thank you for sharing at bacon time. I love chicken and pineapple together. This sounds easy and good, my style cooking.

  3. Amy Says:

    The BBQ Sauce is not Gluten Free it contains wheat and soy

    • Lizz Says:

      Oh no! I made this a while ago and did not see any sort of warning/ingredient on the label. Perhaps it has changed. Well, I bet this would taste really good with regular bbq sauce too. I was told by the exec chef at the Sweet Baby Ray’s restaurant that their bbq sauce is GF! Thank you for the heads up!


Leave a Reply

