A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Gluten Free Friday – Sausage and Bratwurst Kebobs July 22, 2011

Welcome to Gluten Free Friday!

.

For those of you who might be wondering where we’ve been all week, don’t worry, we’ve just been busy busy busy.  Everytime I try to sit down and write a post, life gets in the way.  I’ve got lots to show you though, so bear with me! (I hope this is just a summer thing!!)

.

Anyways…onto the deliciousness for today!

.

Sausage and Bratwurst Kebobs

.

There is something about kebobs on the grill that just screams summer to me.  This was a fun twist on a traditional kebob.  I was able to find a few different gluten free chicken sausages at Trader Joe’s.  We cut those up into pieces (about 5 per link).  Then we chopped up all of the veggies.  We all like different veggies, so we prepared orange peppers, sweet onions, baby bella mushrooms, zuchinni, and yellow squash, and then chose our own combos.

.

.

Not only are those some lovely looking veggies, but how cool is that rainbow that randomly showed up on our counter?!

.

Now, using either bamboo or metal skewers, layer on your choice of sausage/brats/veggies.

.

.

Next, brush each kabob with a little olive oil, and season with salt and pepper.  Take them outside and let your resident grillmaster work his/her magic.  In my house that would not be me.  The grill and I are not a good match.

.

.

These babies are not going to take long to cook.  Maybe a few minutes on each side.  We made some brown rice to go with our kebobs, and by the time everything was all said and done, it looked beautiful!

.

.

Even Skylar’s orangey plate looked great

.

.

Tasty. Easy. Healthy. Gluten Free!

.

Have you ever kebob’ed something “outside of the box”?  I’d love to hear about it!

.

Have a wonderful weekend everyone!

.

Lizz

.

If you want to catch up on our other Gluten Free Friday Posts, *Click Here*

.

I will be linking this post to these fun parties:

Made by You Mondays @ Skip to my Lou

CraftOManiac Mondays @ CraftOManiac

Inspire Me Mondays @ Singing Three Little Birds

Craftastic Monday @ Sew Can Do

Playdate @ Beneath the Rowan Tree

Made It Myself Monday @ You Had Me At Craft

Tip Me Tuesday @ Tip Junkie

Too Cute Tuesday @ Funky Polka Dot Giraffe

Tuesday Time-Out @ Reasons to Skip the Housework

Tuesday Confessional @ Confessions of a Stay at Home Mommy

Linkin’ with Lil’ Luna @ Lil’ Luna

Gluten Free Wednesdays @ The Gluten Free Homemaker

Will See it Wednesday @ Fabric Bows and More

Cast Party @ Lady Behind the Curtain

DIY Thrifty Thursdays @ Thrifty 101

Creative Juices Thursday @ Momnivore’s Dilemma

100 Ideas Under $100 @ Beyond the Picket Fence

Strut Your Stuff @ Somewhat Simple

For the Kids Friday @ Sun Scholar’s

Feature Yourself Friday @ Fingerprints on the Fridge

My Favorite Things @ Stay at Home Nation

 

9 Responses to “Gluten Free Friday – Sausage and Bratwurst Kebobs”

  1. Leslie Says:

    Cooking anything on a stick is fun. This looks fantastic. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Sheryl Says:

    This recipe looks really good! It would be great if you came over to Cast Party Wednesday tomorrow and shared some of your recipes.
    Thanks,
    I hope to see you there!

  3. Kirsten Says:

    Yummy! We love these at our house too! That rainbow was so cool! I love your blog! I ‘m your newest follower, I would love it if you would check out my blog and become mine!

    Have a great night!
    Kirsten
    http://www.mushkiloves.blogspot,com

  4. Sheryl Says:

    Thank You So MUCH for joining me last week for Cast Party Wednesday. I hope you will come back tomorrow and share more of your recipes with us.
    Thanks,
    I hope to see you there!


Leave a Reply

