A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

When is a Positive a Negative? June 10, 2011

Filed under: Miscellaneous — Lizz @ 7:27 am
Tags:

When it’s a lab test.
.
When it’s your daughter’s lab test.
.

Yes, we’ve gotten some news that has been evoking some seriously mixed emotions.  Skylar has been diagnosed with Celiac Disease.  She has an intolerance of gluten (wheat, rye, barley), and eating it has been making her sick for a long time.

.

The Bad News:

  • This is for life.
  • She will never again be able to eat regular bread, pasta, cakes, baked goods, ect.
  • There are some serious health problems that can develop if she doesn’t follow a gluten-free diet.
  • This disease is genetic, so they are talking about also testing myself and dad.

.

The Good News:

  • Skylar will not be sick anymore.  This could potentially fix all the problems she’s been having with her stomach, her skin, and her weight (or lack thereof)
  • It’s just a diet change.  She will not need medications, surgery, or anything else more serious.
  • She has already cut a lot of things out of her diet because they make her stomach hurt, so there’s very few things we are going to have to fight about.
  • There are so many options nowadays for those who are gluten-free.  There are tons of name brand items that have a gluten-free option.  There are lots of blogs with great information, and amazing recipes.  Tons of restaurants offer a gluten-free menu.  There’s even a gluten-free store right down the street from my house!
  • Skylar will not be sick anymore.  I know I already said that, but it’s so important to us that I think it needed to be said twice.

.

I can’t tell you how many times I had to go over the pros and cons of this situation to be “okay” with all of this.  All I can do at this point is be as glass-is-half-full as I can be.

.

So, for those of you that have been wondering where we’ve been for the last week or so, this whole thing has really thrown me for a loop, and blogging was put on the back burner for a bit.  We also threw Skylar a birthday party in the midst of all of this craziness, so I’m sure you can imagine how bonkers I’ve been.  But I’m pulling myself out of this funk, and getting back into the swing of things.

.

I may not have been writing, but I’ve been planning quite a lot of posts.  I have lots to share with all of you, so stay tuned!  I have also decided that I would like to do a weekly post about our new journey.  I will share information about Celiac Disease and Gluten Intolerance, gluten-free products we try, and of course gluten-free recipes.  I am thinking Fridays will be for our new gluten-free information, leaving the rest of the week to continue our adventures in crafting, parenting, and fun-making.

.

So, thank you all for being patient with us.  And if you have some good information to share, we would love to hear it!

.

Here’s to a good first gluten-free weekend!!

.

Lizz

.

Source

 

6 Responses to “When is a Positive a Negative?”

  1. Leah Says:

    I recently discovered a severe intolerance to wheat after being sick for 2 years. I’ve cut it out and my life is 1,000 times better. I love Gluten Free Girl & The Chef for recipes and appreciating life without gluten. http://glutenfreegirl.com/

  2. Sorry you had to go through what you did with your daughter to this point, but glad that now that you know you can help her to live more comfortably.

    I had a similar thing happen with one of my kids when they were young an a change of diet help a lot.

    One of my friends runs the Horn Dawgs Smokin BBQ team in Oshawa, Ontario Canada and they are proud of the fact that they make their award winning BBQ Sauce gluten Free and they are one of the few.

    Best wishes for good health for you guys.

  3. Love you both, and you know I’m here to help in any way I can!!


Leave a Reply

