A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Muffin Tin Monday – Under the Sea May 30, 2011

Filed under: Food — Lizz @ 8:24 am
Tags: , ,

Every once in a while I have a tin idea that looks great in my head.  Then it looks great on paper.  But when I actually put it together, it doesn’t quite look like I imagined.  That’s exactly what happened with this one.  Skylar loved it and ate every single bite.  I guess that’s all that matters, right?  Well, you will all have to tell me what you think of this one…

.

.

Top Row (Left to Right): Apple Sailboat, Celery Fishing Poles, Palm Tree Island

Bottom Row: Goldfish, Hot Dog Jellyfish, The Ocean

.

I started this tin by making blue jello right in one of the sections, and letting it set.  The sailboat was made just by cutting up some apple pieces and putting them together with a toothpick.  The fishing line was dental floss.  There were a few elements of this that were new to us:  The palm trees and the jellyfish.

.

I saw the palm trees somewhere on another blog, and cannot for the life of me remember where.  I will update this when I figure it out, or if it was you, please tell me!  I want to give you credit!  Anyways, these were really easy to create.  Just take some green fruit slices…

.

.

Cut them in half lengthwise

.

.

and pile three of them onto a toothpick.  Make sure the toothpick does not come all the way through the top one.

.

.

Then slide the bottom of the toothpick into the top of a pirouette cookie

.

.

Voila!  A palm tree!  I used marshmallows to stick them up (which didn’t work).  I also used an apple, and the refrigerator for the picture.  A few crushed graham crackers around the base make it look like an island!

.

The hot dogs were even easier.  I don’t really have a good credit for this one, since it came from a picture sent over from a friend which she found on Pintrest. (My newest obsession!!)  Here’s how ya do it…

.

Take some uncooked spaghetti, and hot dog slices

.

.

I snapped the spaghetti in half, but you could leave them whole too.  Take the spaghetti and push several pieces into each hot dog slice.

.

.

Hehehe!  I think they look awesome and spiky!!  Then, cook them in boiling water until the noodles are cooked.  Now they look like some sort of crazy sea creature.

.

.

We went with jellyfish.  And they were actually pretty tasty.

.

So even though I wasn’t totally pleased with the final outcome of this tin, I think that the individual elements were all really fun.

.

I bet the other muffin tin makers did a great job making something fun this week.  To check out their stuff, click over to Muffin Tin Mom’s site.

.

Muffin Tin Monday at Muffintinmom.com

.

Have a great week everyone!!

.

Lizz

 

10 Responses to “Muffin Tin Monday – Under the Sea”

  1. I think this is awesome! And I LOVE the jellyfish especially!

  2. Amanda Says:

    Love it! Very creative.

  3. Wow I think it looks pretty great! I love the fishing poles leading to the goldfish crackers!

  4. You’re crazy, I think this came out GREAT 🙂

  5. Feeding my 3 boys Says:

    A very imaginative lunch. The jellyfish are cool!

  6. What a neat idea! I think next week I may do some ocean/beach themed things with my daughter so that would be a great idea for a lunch. Very creative!

  7. Jen Says:

    I think it looks awesome!

  8. I’ve seen the hot dog jellyfish in a parenting magazine, but it was done with a longer hot dog segment and called an octopus. LOVE the palm trees!

  9. sharla Says:

    very creative!


Leave a Reply

