A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Muffin Tin Monday – Drawing A House May 16, 2011

Filed under: Food — Lizz @ 1:07 am
Tags: , , ,

Did you ever draw a picture of a house when you were a kid?  Of course you did!  If you were anything like me, you probably did the same thing every time: A house in the middle, flower gardens, big sun, clouds, and birds.  So pretty!

.

I was thinking about this when planning our muffin tin for this week.  I feel like our tins are sort of like a picture.  So, let’s draw!

.

.

Top Row (Left to Right): Peep Birds, Pirate Booty Clouds, Corn Soup Sun

Bottom Row: Ham and Cheese Roll-ups, Peanut Butter and Nutella Sandwich, Apple Flowers

.

Skylar loved it!  She totally understood what I was doing with this one too.  And she ate really well, so bonus!

.

The corn soup was so good.  I put a bag of frozen corn in a pot with one box of Trader Joe’s Corn and Roasted Red Pepper Soup.  Simmer for 75 minutes.  Trust me, it’s worth the wait.

.

For the house, I cut the bread by eyeballing it.  Then I gave it a layer of peanut butter, and piped nutella onto it for the door and window.  I used the “cut the tip off of a ziplock baggie” method for that.  So easy, and it really looked like how I used to draw houses!

.

We are always so happy doing and eating our muffin tin meals.  If you love them too, make sure you check out the other amazing tins over at Muffin Tin Mom’s site.

.
Muffin Tin Monday at Muffintinmom.com

.

Happy Monday Everyone!

.

Lizz

 

26 Responses to “Muffin Tin Monday – Drawing A House”

  1. What a pretty lunch! The sun and house are super cute!

  2. That is an adorable tin!!! Everyone talks about these “Pirate Booties” , we don’t have these in Canada, are they cheese curds???

    • Lizz Says:

      Ha! Pirate booty is a puffed treat (corn maybe?). It’s very similar to cheese puffs, but they have a white cheddar powder instead, so no orange fingers! Do you have Trader Joe’s in Canada (We actually use their brand)? I would try any store really and ask if they have anything like this. Good Luck!

  3. I LOVE your tin! It’s so home-sweet-home! Darling!

  4. You apple flowers are cute and so is your sandwich house. The picks are sweet too. Nicely done! 🙂

  5. What a fun, pretty lunch! And sounds yummy too!

  6. Christina Says:

    How fun and so adorable! A very creative idea and very inspiring to go and make something original, too!

  7. kewkew Says:

    Wow, that is an awesome creative tin. Love the look of the sun and the recipe sounds great too. Great job!

  8. What a great idea! I am not always that good at putting my thoughts into action. Great job.

    • Lizz Says:

      Thank you. I actually draw out each one of my tins to see what it will (sort of) look like. It really helps me put it all together. Otherwise, I’m all over the place with ideas that don’t mesh well.

  9. That is pretty much how I would make my house drawings too. Such a cute idea! I am totally going to make your soup- LOVE Trader Joes!

  10. Carrie K Says:

    Once again, an great execution of an idea! You are so creative with your muffin tins!

  11. Fantastic! I love the whole idea of this. My daughter is the artist in the family and I bet she would love putting these together for the boys. 🙂

    Blessings,

    Val

  12. GretchenP Says:

    LOVE your muffin tin meals! I just pinned a bunch and I’m sure i’ll be back for more. Can I subscribe to your blog through Google Reader or by email only? Maybe I’m just missing it… Thanks a bunch for the ideas!! 🙂

    • Lizz Says:

      Well aren’t you just the sweetest thing? Thanks for pinning our tins! We do love making them.
      You can subscribe manually through Google Reader, but if you are talking about Google Friend Connect, I cannot seem to get it to work on my site (probably because I have wordpress). If you or anyone else knows how to get GFC to work here, I’d love to know!

  13. I cannot get over the cuteness of this! I wish my lunch was so cute. I am subscribing to your email for more great ideas.

    http://www.suitcasesandsippycups.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

