A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Happy Mother’s Day May 8, 2011

Filed under: Miscellaneous — Lizz @ 12:23 pm

I want to take a quick moment to say “Happy Mother’s Day!” to all the amazing moms (and moms-to-be) out there.  It’s tough job we all have to do, but no job is more rewarding.  I hope the people in your lives are making this day special for you.

.

I would of course, like to say a very special “Happy Mother’s Day!” to my own mom.

.

.

She is an amazing person, and I know I can always go to her when I need help (and I certainly do!).  She has taught me how to cook, how “it’s not how much you spend…it’s how much you save!”, how to “hover”, and even how to do my job.  I will never forget Medical Management Boot Camp.

.

Most importantly, she has taught me how to be a good mom.  It always amazes me when I hear the words of my mother come out of my mouth.  And then I hear the laughter of my mother when I tell her about it.  She calls it “Mother’s Revenge” but maybe it should be called “Finally Figuring it Out”.

.

I would like to tell my mom that I appreciate every single thing she does for me.  I appreciate that you and Dad are always willing to babysit, and pick up Skylar from school.  I appreciate your willingness to take my calls during the day when I have management questions.  I appreciate you saving coupons for me.  I appreciate your laughing at me when I do something dumb, and helping to lighten the situation.  I think I appreciate you more than I tell you.

.

So Mom, for all the things you do, and all the things you say, and all the love you have given me, I love you right back.  Happy Mother’s Day!

.

Lizz

.

 

3 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day”

  1. And a very happy mother’s day to you too 🙂 And to your mom a.k.a. my 2nd mom 🙂

  2. Mom Says:

    I was sitting at IHOP with dad having a Mother’s Day breakfast with dad and while waiting for our food I checked my e-mail on my phone when I saw a new post on your blog. So – I’m sitting there reading this and the tears started and your dad is looking at me with concern wondering why I’m crying. I read him the post and he just smiled.

    There is NOTHING that I value more than my family. Being a wife at such a young age was difficult enough, but being a mother was even scarier. You didn’t come with instructions and I was 1000 miles away from my mother and had to learn all my myself. I made a lot of mistakes – some you never knew about and many that you busted me on – bull all in all, motherhood is ALL that it is cracked up to be!!

    The most precious thing that we have are the memories of the things that we have done in the past and the future memories we have yet to experience. I know we were strict with you girls growing up, but in the end you have become well adjusted, talented, and kind adults. The words “Mind your manners and say please and thank you” should be tattooed on your brain. The compliments that I received from your friend’s parents on your behavior and manners was always nice to hear. If they only know what you and your sister were like at home!!! The ultimate compliment came when you told me that you were glad you were raised the way you were, and when you became a parent, you would raise your child the same way. Not that you are a mother, I see that you do so sound like be occassionally, but also you add your own flair – and do it very well. I am proud of you. You too are a great mother. Like I said, there is no handbook, you just have to hope you are making the right choices and not mess up too badly.

    You honor me with your words and it makes me feel like maybe I did one or two things right. I dont’ know – maybe this is the stuff for a fun book someday!

    Love you!
    Happy Mother’s Day

  3. Stopping from Mom Loop! Your mom sounds like a very special lady. I enjoyed spending time with my mom over the weekend too.


Leave a Reply

