A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Muffin Tin Monday – Telling Time May 1, 2011

Filed under: Food — Lizz @ 9:52 pm
Tags: , , ,

Tick Tock!  It’s Muffin Tin Time!!

.

Or…It’s Time via Muffin Tin!

.

Either way, this tin was a big hit in our house this weekend.  Skylar has been working on telling time.  This is a really difficult concept for kids to understand, so we’ve been doing a lot of practicing.  I thought this would be a fun way to, yet again, talk about reading a clock face.  So, here’s the tin:

.

.

The odd numbers were all done out of a slice of american cheese, with my new number cutters (part of a Wilton set of letter and number fondant cutters).  (This could also be a good time to talk about odd and even numbers)  Each even number spot has that number of items. So…

2 Peeps

4 Cheddar Chicken Nuggets

6 Smiley Face Fries

8 Apple Slices

10 Pineapple pieces

12 Jelly Beans

.

The hands of the clock were made from dried spaghetti noodles and string cheese pieces.

.

I showed this tin to Skylar and asked her what time it was.  Her response was “How am I supposed to know?!”  I started to explain how all the cups are supposed to actually be numbers, and before I finished my sentence, she said “Hold it!” (and put her sassy little “stop” hand up to my face!) “It’s 2 o’clock!”  A success!! (time-telling wise.  Looks like we need a little conversation about manners though!)

.

I’m really pleased with this one.  What do you all think?  Wouldn’t you love to have a muffin tin clock?

.

Make sure you check out what the other amazing moms have made for their kid’s muffin tin meals this week over a Muffin Tin Mom’s Site.
.

Muffin Tin Monday at Muffintinmom.com

.

Have a great week!

.

Lizz

 

14 Responses to “Muffin Tin Monday – Telling Time”

  1. Susie Says:

    What a cute idea!

  2. I am so glad she got it. I love that the peeps start the day. We have birds that seem to start chirping at 2:00 a.m. at our house.

  3. Oh I know that “hold it” hand way too well… but this is an AMAZING tin! I love it!!
    P.S. would you want to go to the Wilton tent sale with me this year?? Twist twist?

  4. What a clever tin. I love the way you presented odd numbers. The smiley faces are cute too!

  5. sara d Says:

    super cute idea!

  6. That is AWESOME!!! I’m going to have remember this for when Butterfly starts learning time!

  7. Carrie K Says:

    Totally clever idea. Those little cheese numbers are adorable!

  8. patricia Says:

    This is really original. Good job mommy


Leave a Reply

