A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Why My Sister is Awesome – Friday in Photos April 29, 2011

Filed under: Friday in Photos — Lizz @ 11:29 am

I haven’t done a Friday in Photos for a while, so my apologies for this one being a little long.

.

I have done my best to not gush about my sister, but I can’t contain myself anymore.  She is an artist.  Correction:  She is an amazing artist!  Every time I see something she’s done I can’t imagine how she came up with such an idea, and how she possibly got it done.  I also continue to be impressed with the things she does to decorate her apartment.  I don’t get over there enough, so when the whole family was invited for a dinner party/birthday party/mother’s day party, I was really excited to go and see what she’s been up to.

.

After entering her very long entrance hallway, we were greeted by a chalkboard wall and a birthday wish.

.

.

And teeth.  I love that painting!

.

Skylar added her own special touches,

.

.

and then had a go at the balloon decorations.

.

.

She blew some bubbles on the balcony,

.

.

and then we all started getting a little silly.

.

(‘sup Casey!!)

.

.

Nothing like having such serious parents!

.

.

Wait!! Must attack balloons again!!

.

.

And be adorable.

.

.

We did have a dinner too.  We were served on this great table setting:

.

.

We had individual salads waiting for us.

.

.

Followed up with pasta and chicken.

.

.

.

Doesn’t the chicken look gorgeous?  And plastic free?  Even the best laid plans sometimes require a second chicken.

.

Oh!  Did I forget to mention that this apartment is downtown?  Like downtown downtown.  Check out this view!!

.

.

And now for the interior decorating.  I will apologize here for not taking the best pictures, and also not editing.  Well, I’m busy ya know!  You’ll still get the point…

.

I would NEVER have the guts to do this to a wall…

.

.

I also love her lamp.  She used the same technique that I used for the string nest, but she used a balloon instead of a bowl to create a round shape.  Then she placed it around a home depot-esque spotlight, and voila! (I promise to re-take this one during the day, so you can see it better)

.

Her paintings hang all over the place

.

.

And her room looks like something out of a magazine

.

.

I love that she and her roommate thought to create a Ven Diagram of foods they would both eat.

.

.

As we were leaving I stopped to use the restroom, and found this amazing wall art/jewelry holder.  I think I’m going to try to recreate this one.  Or make her come over and do it for me =)

.

.

So tell me…I’m not biased, right? Are you as impressed with my sister as I am?

.

With lots of love (and a little bias, and tons of jealousy), I love you my Sista!!

.

Lizz

 

Leave a Reply

