A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Muffin Tin Monday – Harry Potter April 18, 2011

Filed under: Food — Lizz @ 8:48 am
Tags: , ,

Let me just start with a daily affirmation:  Hi.  My name is Lizz, and I am a Harry Potter Nerd.  I started reading the series just after the third book was published, and was immediately hooked.  Since then, I have attended every midnight book release, and opening day movie premiere.  Even though I am in my (cough) thirties, I still enjoy the stories.  My love of all things Harry Potter has trickled down to my daughter.  She’s still not quite ready to sit and listen to the books, but she has seen the first few movies (I won’t let her watch above #3 yet, since they do start to get a little dark)

.

So, in honor of picking up my newly released bluray copy of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1, Skylar and I decided that a Harry Potter themed tin was perfect for this weekend.  We did this one for lunch, and kept it pretty light since we were going out for a fancy dinner later.  Here’s what we came up with:

.

.

Top Row (Left to Right): Magic Wands, Cauldron Cake, Pumpkin Juice

Bottom Row: The Golden Snitch, Lightening Bolt Sandwich, Hedwig’s Owl Egg

.

We took a little trip to our local asian market and picked up some pocky sticks for the magic wands.  Our cauldron cake is a mystery muffin.  I say that because I don’t actually know what it is.  It’s leftovers from a breakfast at my work.  It looks yummy though.

.

The pumpkin juice is milk with orange food coloring.  The snitch was sort of funny.  I thought we had cuties at home, and apparently we only had full-sized oranges.  It was already so large that I didn’t want to add big wings, so I just used my food markers to draw some.  The sandwich was ham, and hand cut into a lightening bolt.  Hedwig’s egg is simply a colored hard-boiled egg.  It even looked lovely and spotted when I took the shell off.

.

.

I wrestled with the idea of buying some Bertie Bott’s Every Flavor Beans, which are actually sold in some candy and book stores.  I have had them before, and they really do taste disgusting like pepper, earwax, vomit, and boogers.  Eww!  But I thought it would be mean to subject Skylar to that.  I have, however, previously set them out when I’ve had guests over and don’t tell them before they eat some innocent looking jelly beans.  Ha!  You know…it would make for a good April Fool’s prank.  Must remember that for next year.

.

If you want to see what other great muffin tin meals were created this week, check out Muffin Tin Mom’s site.

.
Muffin Tin Monday at Muffintinmom.com

.

Have a great week everyone!

.

Lizz

 

14 Responses to “Muffin Tin Monday – Harry Potter”

  1. Dad Says:

    Very creative. I am sure you Skylar enjoy the weekly creations. I think Skylar is picking up on your craftyness.

  2. Kristy H Says:

    I love your ideas! I am actually going to try something like this for summer, even though my kids are older I think they’d still enjoy the themes!
    And those Berties Beans are outrageous! I bought some awhile back, meaning to give them to son for April Fools. One day when he was being a little punk I decided to let him “try” my yummy jellybeans! Gave him a Vomit and Pizza, lol, yummy! Then on accident I myself grabbed what I thought was a cherry and instead was another Pizza, OMG, I don’t know what was worse, that taste or the fact that I actually tried eating one!

  3. So, as always, you are my date the weekend of July 15 (again) at the Muvico (again) with wine in my purse?? 🙂 YAY!

  4. JDaniel4's Mom Says:

    I love your egg. The whole tin is really wonderful!

  5. How fun! My husband worked on the Harry Potter collectible card game, so I resisted as long as I could, out of spite. But eventually the lure of those (free from the company for research purposes) books called to me. I am a voracious reader. And I too, was hooked.

    • Lizz Says:

      Now I think it’s really cool that your husband got the opportunity to work on the card game! I know so many people that tried so hard to stay away from Harry Potter, but I think the reason they are so popular is that the story is really amazing, and relatable to all ages. I love that they inspired so many to pick up a book.

  6. Ali Says:

    Aww. Man you are so creative with these! Hah – you had me laughing at the mystery muffin as well.

    I wanted to thank you for participating in the Hump Day Hoorah at my blog last week. A new Hoorah is now up and I’d love it if you joined in. Have a great week! 🙂

  7. Awesome! I am absolutely a Harry Potter freak as well. Sadly my girl is a few years off that stage yet! But Bertie Bott’s Every Flavour Beans are brilliant. If you don’t want to gross people out with the yucky flavours, Jelly Belly beans work as an alternative – they’re still interesting (make sure you get some more interesting flavours like jalapeno and buttered popcorn), but they’re all yummy.

    • Lizz Says:

      I’m not generally a jelly bena fan, but I do love Jelly Bellys. We actually live close enough to drive to the Jelly Belly factory to buy belly flops!!


Leave a Reply

