A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Muffin Tin Monday – Flower Garden April 11, 2011

Filed under: Food — Lizz @ 7:34 am
Tags: , , ,

Some of you that read our little blog here regularly may have noticed a lack of posting lately.  It’s been a crazy busy sort of week, but I promise I will do my best to get back on track.  Because of this crazy busy week, I didn’t (and couldn’t really) come up with a theme for this week’s muffin tin.  We all know that I do much better with a theme, so Skylar and I wracked our brains to come up with something at the 11th hour.  Sometimes these last minute tins turn out to be some of my favorites, and I really like this one:

.

.

Left to Right: Olive flower with an ants-on-a-log stem, Mac and cheese flower with a string cheese stem, Chocolate pudding flower with a pretzel rod stem.

.

I love finding an excuse to buy all the cute little accessories I want for muffin tin-ing, and this week I finally bought those cute silicone flower cups.  It was so easy to just fill the cups with something yummy, and find stems.

.

Traditionally, ants-on-a-log is made with celery, peanut butter, and raisins.  Skylar asked for them, so I went to the store and got celery.  I realized later that I didn’t have any raisins! Ugh.  Time to improvise!  So, I went with chocolate chips instead.  Plus, that celery I bought provided great leaves for my stems.

.

Super easy, super cute tin that got a very quick approval squeal from Skylar.

.

If you want to see some of the other great tin made this week, check out Muffin Tin Mom’s site.

.

Muffin Tin Monday at Muffintinmom.com

.

Have a great week!

.

Lizz

.


.


.
Tip Junkie handmade projects
.
.

 

27 Responses to “Muffin Tin Monday – Flower Garden”

  1. Oh, that’s so lovely, I love this idea!

  2. Oh gosh, this is BEAUTIFUL!!! What an awesome idea, Spring flower meal, love love love it! great job!!! :))

  3. Love the flowers… so cute!

  4. I love your “stems”! That is soo creative. Great job!

  5. SO cute!!
    Remind me the next time I see you, I have some muffin tin-y things for you 🙂

  6. I adore this!!!! I have been trying to think of something other than just celery for stems, and this is perfect! You are so creative!

  7. sooo cute! love this idea!

  8. Jamie Says:

    That is so cute! Love it!

  9. Love your flowers! Very cute!

  10. so well done. it is just a delight to look at.

  11. Lori Says:

    Great tin! I really love that idea. I am usually doing tins last minute and I’m always surprised what I can scrounge up.

  12. Ali Says:

    That is just adorable. I can’t believe you guys thought of that last minute, I don’t think I could plan that if I had all day to try to think of something, haha. I’m looking forward to my kids being a little older and doing this.

    • Lizz Says:

      This is a great meal for kids of all ages, and you can totally do it! This one was a little on the fancy side, but I’ve done several where I just take her normal dinner and throw it into a muffin tin instead of a plate. Something like chicken nuggets, veggies, fruit, a treat, and a drink or something. It’s amazing how much more she eats when it’s in a muffin tin! We’ve even done movie snacks (popcorn, m&ms, pretzels, ect). It’s a lot of fun, and now my daughter requests muffin tin meals.

  13. Michelle Says:

    I love this! I would love if you would link this up to Made by Little Hands Mondays!
    Thanks so much!
    Michelle
    http://www.delicateconstruction.blogspot.com

  14. kathryn Says:

    love it! adorable. glad I found your blog.

    kathryn
    http://www.thedragonsfairytail.blogspot.com

  15. Saw you at Tip Junkie..I’d love for you to come link this up at my Tuesday Time Out Linky Party! The link is below!
    Smiles,
    Melanie
    Reasons To Skip The Housework
    Tuesday Time Out Link Up Party
    Link up Your Weekly Parties Here


Leave a Reply

