A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Giant Flower Hair Clips April 7, 2011

Filed under: Accessories — Lizz @ 7:25 am
Tags:

I’ve been loving these beautiful multicolored flowers I’ve been seeing in stores and online recently.  Have you seen them?  Something like this:

.

.

So cute!  My friend over at Mia and Mackie in the Mirror makes some similar items (and some other great stuff, you should check them out!!).  She gave me a few pointers, so I thought I would try my hand at it.  Here we go!!…

.

First, I went to Michael’s and found some lovely colored daisy-esque flowers.  (On sale!!)

.

.

Then I pulled them apart.

.

.

Then I re-layered them in alternating colors, without adding in any of the plastic pieces.  The important part here is to make sure that each layer is staggered from the next, so you can see all the petals from each layer.

.

.

Using a hot glue gun, I secured each layer.  Then I added a jewel to the center.

.

.

Next, I covered an alligator clip (also available at Michael’s), with a ribbed ribbon.  This was also done with a glue gun.  This step is not 100% necessary, but it does look pretty, and it grips to the hair a little better.

.

.

Then I glued it to the back side of the flower

.

.

The whole thing takes about 10-15 minutes.  Not to bad!  And it really looks lovely in a little girl’s hair:

.

.

We also made a few others, and changed up the coloring.  Here’s a yellow and pink version:

.

.

This project was so much easier than I thought it was going to be, and both Skylar and I were really pleased with the results.

.

.

I’d love to hear what you all think about these clips.  Should we keep making them?

.

Have a great rest of the week!

.

Lizz

.

.

.

.
Tip Junkie handmade projects
.

.
.
.

.

.

 

18 Responses to “Giant Flower Hair Clips”

  1. Deborah Andersen Says:

    Yes!! They are so cute! Skylar you look WONDERFUL!

  2. Wendy Says:

    Very cute! I’m sure my 6 year old would love those. Thanks for visiting & commenting on my rainbow slush!

  3. margo Says:

    I love it! I am going to have to try and make one for my daughter, it’s so girly!

  4. I’d love for you to come link this up at my Tuesday Time Out Linky Party! The link is below!
    Smiles,
    Melanie
    Reasons To Skip The Housework
    Tuesday Time Out Link Up Party

  5. Rachel Says:

    We’ve made SOOOOO many of these too. Wow, they are so simple, and so pretty, aren’t they? My girls love wearing them! I actually have a super fun idea to use these with that I hope to create and post in the next week or two. You’ll have to drop by to catch it 😉

    Thanks so much for sharing this at For the Kids Friday Link Party! I will be posting the next party tomorrow night. I hope to have you stop by and join us for another week sharing great ideas for our kids!!

    Thanks for stopping by!
    :)rachel at http://SunScholars.blogspot.com

    • Lizz Says:

      I will definately check it out! I have an idea milling around in my head for these as well. I wonder if we’re thinking the same thing?

  6. My 4 year old niece would adore these. I think I will make her some for her Easter basket!

    If you have a moment today, please share this with my readers @Creative Juice Thursday Hope to see yours among all the amazing projects!

  7. […] Giant Flower Hair Clips Like us on Facebook! A Little Bit of This and ThatLike us on Facebook! See what we’ve done…April Fool's Day Braids Curls Desserts Do-It-Yourself Fun Food Holiday Hair Holiday Projects Kid Art Making Life Easier Math Muffin Tin Monday Organization Parenting Tips Quick Meals Spring St Patrick's Day Twists Valentine's DayWhat are you looking for? […]

  8. […] This large yellow and green daisy alligator hair clip was one of many created during *this post* […]

  9. Love these hair clips!! So cute and clever! 🙂 ~Jen

  10. […] to the readers of Reasons to Skip the Housework: No, not the kid. We are offering one of our Giant Flower Hairclips to one lucky winner! We have a ton of colors, so the winner will have several to choose from. […]


Leave a Reply

