A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Muffin Tin Monday – Rain, Rain, Go Away! April 4, 2011

Filed under: Food — Lizz @ 7:54 am
Tags: , , ,

Here in the Chicagoland area, we’ve been getting quite a bit of rain lately.  Not so much that it’s overwhelming or anything, but the perfect amount for bringing all the plants back to green.  it seemed like a good muffin tin theme, so we went with it!

.

.

Top Row (Left to Right): Clouds, Umbrella, Purple Rain

Bottom Row: Puddle, Umbrella’s Stick, Mud and Worms

.

You know when something looks great in your head, but it doesn’t exactly work in real life?  That’s how the umbrella part of this tin was for me.  No matter what I did, it looked a little wonky.  Skylar thought it was great, so I fought against my perfectionist issues, and I just went with it.  I’m sure you all have good imaginations! (incase you’re wondering, it’s a peanut butter sandwich, fruit leather polka dots, and a (wince) string cheese handle)

.

The rest of the tin was pretty simple.  I used blue jell-o for the puddle and pirate booty for the clouds.  The dirt cup is something I LOVE making with little kids.  It looks totally gross, but it’s actually really tasty.  First, put chocolate pudding in the cup.  Then top with crushed oreos (the kids love smashing them up too!).  Stick a few gummy worms, and voila!

.

The last thing in the tin has had me giggling to myself all day.  Purple Rain!  Like, by Prince!!  I hope you all got that reference earlier.  In real life, it’s actually chocolate covered sunflower seeds.  We found them at Trader Joe’s.  They are yummy!

.

And as a final treat for those of you that either don’t get my Prince reference, or now are trying to remember how it goes…enjoy…

.

.

(This may not be my favorite Prince song, but I love throwing in a Prince reference whenever I can.  Feel free to peruse for additional videos!)

.

If you want to see the other muffin tin meals created this week, check out Muffin Tin Mom’s Site

.

Muffin Tin Monday at Muffintinmom.com

.

Happy Monday!

.

Lizz

 

12 Responses to “Muffin Tin Monday – Rain, Rain, Go Away!”

  1. JDaniel4's Mom Says:

    Your purple rain sounds better than my acid rain.

  2. I love your umbrella!!!

  3. You are sooo creative! I love your tin today including the purple rain. Your umbrella is sweet too! I stole you mashed potato ice cream as promised and served it in a really fun Aril Fool’s meal. Hope you have a great week my dear!

  4. Aww, so creative! Love the umbrella!

  5. Purple Rain! I love it. Of course I love all things 80’s. The clouds are also very creative. I wouldn’t have thought of using popcorn. Fun lunch

  6. I love you.
    That is all 🙂


Leave a Reply

