A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Muffin Tin Monday – First Day of Spring! March 21, 2011

Filed under: Food — Lizz @ 12:02 am
Tags: , , , ,

Skylar has been talking about Spring for the last few weeks now.  She just couldn’t wait for it to officially be Spring.  I have been waiting for it to not be winter anymore.  So with yesterday being the official first day of Spring, complete with rainstorms, it seemed appropriate to do a spring muffin tin meal.

.

Before I show you the tin, I wanted to show you the gift I bought myself:

.

.

Food Markers!!  I’ve been wanting these for a while, and since this tin required a lot of little details, I figured it was the perfect time to treat myself.  (If you are jumping out of your seat, wanting a set for yourself, I got mine at Michael’s, and I’m sure you can get them anywhere that sells cake decorating stuff)

.

On to the cuteness…

.

.

Top Row (left to right): Babybel Ladybug, Egg Flower w/ Apple Leaf, Bees and Honey Combs

Bottom Row: Ramen Noodle Nest, Chick Cheese Sandwich, Broccoli Trees

.

I thought I would give you a few upclose pictures to show you what I did.

.

.

For this lovely ladybug, I used babybel cheese and cut sections out of the wax.  I used the negative to create the little bowtie, and used my new food safe markers (squee!!) to draw the black dots.

.

.

I have made these egg flowers before. (If you want to see how to make them, click here for my egg mold tutorial) I made this mistake this time of using large eggs instead of extra large, so they don’t have as much definition as I would have liked.  They still look lovely, and were one of the first thing Skylar ate.

.

.

We love Ramen around here, and it made for a perfect nest.  I found some adorable egg picks during my Michael’s trip to use here.

.

.

The cheese sandwich was pretty easy.   I used cookie cutters for the bread and cheese, and I used my food markers to make the details on the chick’s face.

.

.

I thought the bees came out really cute.  I took a few picture of how I made them.  You will need some yellow candy melt, pretzel rod broken into smaller pieces, almond slices, and black food markers or decorating gel.  First, melt the candy according to the package directions.

.

.

I used a pair of kitchen scissors to round off the edges of the broken pretzel.  Drop it into the melted candy and cover it completely.  Set it on a piece of wax paper to cool.  If there is a lot of excess candy, move the pretzel over after it’s done dripping.  Once the candy cools a bit but before it hardens completely, you can stick the almond slices in to look like wings.

.

.

Once completely cooled and hardened, use a black food safe marker, or black decorating gel to add the lines and eyes.

.

If you want to see the other muffin tin meals that were created for this week, check out Muffin Tin Mom’s site.

.

.Muffin Tin Monday at Muffintinmom.com

.

Happy Spring Everyone!!

.

Lizz

 

18 Responses to “Muffin Tin Monday – First Day of Spring!”

  1. OMG! Too stinkin’ cute! I love it all! Love love love!

  2. LOVE the cheese! Visiting you from Muffin Tin Monday! Have a great week!

  3. This meal is soooo cute! I love all your created with the food writers~

  4. You’re just getting better and better at these!! They may all find their way onto cute food saturday somehow 🙂

  5. Ludicrous Mama took the words right out of my mouth! This meal is too stinking cute! I love it!

  6. That is one of the cutest muffin tin lunches I have every seen! I definitely think that MTM should feature that one. Great job!

  7. sara d Says:

    SUPER CUTE!
    i was just thinking about how people write on food…have to look for the food writers!

  8. SOOO Cute, I love the lady bug and bees!!! What a great idea.

  9. Oh WOW, I love that little ladybug Babybel!! I am going to have to do one of those…


Leave a Reply

