A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Roasted Dill Red Potatoes March 16, 2011

Filed under: Food — Lizz @ 1:54 pm
Tags:

For those of you that read our Muffin Tin Monday post this week (check it out *here* if you missed it), I told you that I would give you my recipe for the potatoes.   This is really less of a recipe and more of a “I wonder if this would taste good, so here’s how I threw this together” sort of thing.  Which I have repeated now several times, because it did taste good.  I’m sure this dish could be made with things like real onions and real garlic, but I like to make this as quickly and simply as possible.  Regardless, in the end, you are going to love this super easy side dish.  For those of you celebrating St Patrick’s Day tomorrow, this would make a great alternative to traditional boiled potatoes.

.

Ingredients:

  • Red Potatoes
  • Dill
  • Garlic Powder
  • Onion Powder
  • Salt
  • Butter

 .

Directions:

.

Start by cleaning and quartering your potatoes, leaving the skins on.  Put them into an appropriately sized baking dish.

.

.

I used this glass pie dish to make enough for 3 people.  If you need more than that, a 9 x 13 dish is great.  I try to get a single layer of potatoes, so it will cook quicker and evenly.

.

Now, melt butter in a microwave safe dish.  When making a smaller batch like I did, 1/3 to 1/2 of a stick will do.  If you’re doing a 9 x 13 batch, I would use a full stick. (hey, nobody said this was going to be healthy!)

.

Pour the butter over your potatoes.

.

.

Stir to make sure each potato is coated.

.

Now, cover with your spices.  Since this is a throw together recipe, I don’t have exact measurements for you.  I just make sure that each piece gets a little of everything.  Give them a stir to evenly coat, then add a little more dill on top.

.

.

Roast them in the oven at 400 degrees for approx 50 minutes.  Start checking for done-ness around 45 minutes.  You should be able to pierce them with a fork easily.

.

.

Voila!  I know these are a little on the light side, but that’s how I personally prefer them.  If you leave them in a little longer, you will get a beautiful brown color on them.

.

I love making these because they take 5 minutes to prepare, and then I can just leave them until they are done.  Plus, they smell amazing!

.

I hope you enjoy these as much as we do!  Have a great day!

.

Lizz

 

One Response to “Roasted Dill Red Potatoes”


Leave a Reply

