A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Make a Shamrock T-shirt March 13, 2011

Filed under: Art Projects,Things To Do — Lizz @ 12:14 pm
Tags: ,

I’ve been wanting to try a few techniques I’ve been seeing for creating shirt stencils.  I figured St Patty’s Day is a great reason to give it a try!  Here’s what we did…

.

First, collect the things you are going to need:

.

.

  • T-shirt in the color of your choice
  • Freezer paper
  • A printed version of your design
  • X-acto knife
  • Fabric paint
  • Fabric adhesive
  • Fabric glitter

.

First, you will need to choose a design that you like.  I just made mine on my computer, using a celtic type of font, and a graphic of a shamrock.  When looking for fonts and graphics, remember that you will be cutting them out, so it doesn’t matter what it looks like really, just look at the shape on the outside.

.

Next, cut out a piece of the freezer paper that is at least as big as your design paper.  If you’ve never used freezer paper before (this was my first time!), it can be found in your local grocery store with all the tin foil and ziplock bags.  If has 2 distinct sides.  One looks like normal paper, and the other side is wax-coated and very shiny.

.

Now, put your freezer paper over the design paper, with the shiny wax side down.  I used a little bit of double-sided tape in the corners to keep them together.

.

Next, use your x-acto knife to cut out the design.

.

.

Because I went with a long word, and a somewhat complicated font, this took quite a bit of time to cut out.  It was worth it to me in the end, but it’s something to consider.

.

You will end up with a stencil like this:

.

.

If you look carefully, I left the center pieces in the a’s and g by leaving a little tiny connection.  You can cut them out completely, but you will need to add them back in later, so don’t throw them out.

.

Now the fun part!  You will iron this stencil to the shirt (wax side down still).  There’s really no trick to this, you will just need to eyeball lining up the stencil onto the shirt.  Iron on medium heat for about 30 seconds

.

.

Check to make sure all the edges are sealed.  Slip a piece of cardboard under the shirt to protect the backside from the paint.

.

Then it’s time to paint!  I used a paint brush to apply the paint, but you could use a sponge too.

.

.

And you’ll end up with this…

.

.

For the shamrock, I wanted to do it in glitter.  I used fabric adhesive on a sponge, and spread it all over the shamrock area.

.

.

Then cover the entire area with fabric glitter, and I used my finger to make sure the whole thing was covered completely.  (side note: using fabric glue and fabric glitter is recommended, because it’s washable and should hold up pretty well)

.

.

Leprechaun Finger!

.

.

Shake off the excess glitter.  And now…. The moment of truth…

.

.

Voila!

.

.

I think it turned out great!  And of course this project isn’t final until there’s a cute little blond inside it…

.

.

I will be submitting this project to a number of linky parties (I will continue to add them here as I link them).  Click the images below to see the other great projects submitted this week:

.

.

.

.

.

.

.
Tip Junkie handmade projects

.

.

.

Have a great day!

.

Lizz

 

5 Responses to “Make a Shamrock T-shirt”

  1. OH so THAT’S what fabric glitter is 🙂 The shirt looks great!

  2. Shannon Says:

    This is adorable. Shenanigans is one of my favorite words!!! I think I need to make some shirts.

  3. Rachel Says:

    That turned out so cute! I agree… I love the “shenanigans” 🙂 Perfect for St. Patty’s!

    Thanks so much for sharing this at For the Kids Friday at Sun Scholars! I’ll be posting the next link party tonight, so be sure to stop by. I can’t wait to see what you have to share this week!

    🙂 rachel @ SunScholars.blogspot.com

  4. Very nice shirt! Great tutorial. I bet the kids will love making these.

  5. If you want to increase your familiarity just keep visiting
    this web site and be updated with the latest news posted here.


Leave a Reply

