A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Happy Birthday To Me! March 1, 2011

Filed under: Miscellaneous — Lizz @ 7:08 pm

My sincerest apologies for having disappeared for the last few days, but Skylar and I have both been pretty sick.  And at the worst time too!  Who likes being sick on their birthday?  Well not me for sure, but we’ve made the best of it by curling up with a big bowl of Jewish penicillin (aka Matzo Ball Soup) from The Bagel, and watching lots of movies.  Are you are raising an eyebrow as to why I, one who celebrates Christmas, understands the glory that is matzo ball soup?  I grew up in a town that has a huge Jewish population, so I’ve had the privilege of meeting lots of Jewish grandmas!

.

While we are still on the mend, I thought it would be fun little birthday activity to share a few little random tidbits about myself.  I will give you one for every year, making this a list of 31.

.

1)  It’s not really my birthday.  Sort of.  I was born on leap year, and 2011 is not a leap year.  So I just aim for something close.

.

2)  In 2012, I will have my 8th real birthday.  Skylar will turn 7 that year, so this is the last time I will be older than my daughter.

.

3)  I have a degree in Elementary Education, but…

.

4)  I manage a medical practice.  (working with adults is just like working with children!)

.

5)  I love Coca Cola.  I’ve even started cooking with it! (Check out this recipe for Coke Chicken, and this one for Devils Food Coke Cupcakes)

.

6)  I am a procrastinator.  I procrastinated writing this post, and am now writing it to procrastinate folding laundry.

.

7)  I have lots of allergies.  Some are normal (dust, mold, cats) and some are more unusual (grass, latex, adhesive [like band-aids]).  I had to get allergy shots when I was a kid, but now they usually don’t bother me too much.

.

8)  I was kicked out of ballet class when I was 5 for being too hyperactive.  This hyperactivity was actually a side effect of the allergy shots I was taking at the time (see #7)

.

9)  I love the smell of laundry, but hate having to fold it (see #6)

.

10)  I love to read, but always seem to find myself reading young adult books.  I’m not sure why exactly.

.

11)  I wrote my name on the Berlin Wall.  explanation:  When I was in Berlin, I visited the longest remaining section of the wall, which is now call The East Side Gallery.  Artists took sections of the wall and painted it.  It was really beautiful.  Many people had written their names somewhere on it, so I went with it!

.

12)  I did half of my student teaching in England.

.

13)  By the time I was 8, I had lived in 5 different states.

.

14)  I hate blueberries.

.

15)  I also hate mustard and honey, but I like honey mustard dressing.  Weird.

.

16)  I am a self-aware over-explainer.  I will not expound on that.

.

17)  I find this list so much harder to write than I thought.

.

18)  I love HGTV.  I am now confident that I can buy a house, fix it up, decorate it, sell it, make a profit, and use the money to buy a vacation home out of the country.

.

19)  I pronounce the “t” in often.

.

20)  I use a kangaroo keeper in my purse, and I LURV it!!

.

21)  I often laugh at the people in infomercials and how they make doing simple things look so difficult.  Then I buy the product and end up loving it.  (see #20)

.

22)  I am lactose intolerant.

.

23)  I have a tendency to clip tons of coupons, but not use them.

.

24)  I am a total Gleek.

.

25)  I enjoy hot showers so much that I generally use all the hot water.  I therefore plan around other people in the house needing to bathe.

.

26)  I laugh when people fall down.  Hard.  Then I help.

.

27)  I think that driving too slow in the city is just as dangerous as driving too fast.  Just go with the flow.

.

28)  There are 4 drawers in my desk at work.  2 big, 2 small.  One of the big ones is devoted entirely to snacks, tea, and hot chocolate.

.

29)  When we moved in to this apartment, we didn’t have a dresser.  I took cardboard boxes, sliced off the flaps, and used them like stacked cubbies.  This was to be a temporary fix until we got a real dresser.  That was a year ago…

.

30)  I am really good at 6 degrees of Kevin Bacon.

.

31)  I love writing this blog.  I love trying new things, and doing them with Skylar.  I love sharing things that I find fun and interesting with other people, and this little corner of cyberspace is the perfect way for me to do that.  I appreciate each and everyone one of you for reading all about our various shenanigans.

.

I hope you enjoyed learning a little bit about me.  Have a great week!

.

Lizz

 

One Response to “Happy Birthday To Me!”

  1. I love you bestie!!! Happy 7 3/4 birthday!


Leave a Reply

