A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Devil’s Food Coke Cupcakes – Valentines Addition February 10, 2011

Filed under: Food — Lizz @ 5:38 am
Tags: , ,

Yes, I am continuing my new love of cooking with Coca Cola.  And it’s a wonderful thing!

.

Skylar and I have been reading chapter books before bedtime.  Recently we read a book that came with her fake American Girl doll. (Thank you Target!)  “Eva” came with lots of accessories and a book detailing one of her sleuthing adventures.  The story mentions a baker who makes a very special “Hidden Treasure Cake”, where one lucky eater will find a coin hidden in their piece.  To my surprise, the recipe was written out at the end of the book.  Cool.  The cake itself has 2 ingredients.  Double Cool.  One of those ingredients is Coke.  Oh, we are so making this! Maybe without the hidden coin…ya know, choking hazard.  Even with 2 ingredients I still modified it, so here’s what we did:

.

Start by gathering your ingredients:

.

.

  • 1 box of Devil’s Food cake mix
  • 1 12 oz can of coke (or in my case, 12 oz measured from a 2 liter)

.

Mix together only the cake mix and coke.  Do not add any of the other ingredients that might be listed for the cake mix.

.

Yum!

.

Take blurry pictures of your beater-licker

.

.

Line a cupcake tin with liners, and pour batter in.  Thanks to Mara for giving me some Sutton Gourmet Paper liners (great cupcake liners that don’t allow a dark cake to bleed through and distort the liner design)

.

Bake at 350 degrees for approx 15 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out cleanly.  (If you choose to make a whole cake, it will probably need to cook longer)

.

Don’t they look so good?!

.

Once cooled, you can frost and decorate as you see fit.  I know that making your own frosting is always going to taste better, but sometimes canned is just easier.  I learned an interesting tip for making canned frosting a little more appealing.  If you add some butter (1-1.5 teaspoons for a half can) and mix with a hand mixer, it will cut out the über sweetness, and make it a little creamier and easier to spread.

.

We went with a variety of Valentine inspired toppings.

.

.

.

I love the sparkly gel we found (A Wilton product)

.

.

Skylar decorated her own cupcake, and then promptly devoured it.

.

.

I am going to be posting these yummy Valentine’s treats on the site JDaniel4’s Mom as part of a Virtual Valentines Party.  Check it out if you want to see some other great Valentine treats and activities.

.
 
.

Have a great rest of the week, and keep checking back for more Valentines activities!

.

Lizz

 

6 Responses to “Devil’s Food Coke Cupcakes – Valentines Addition”

  1. Jill Says:

    So cute and they look so yummy!

  2. These looks so yummy!

    Thank you so much for linking to the Virtual Valentine’s Day Party on my blog. Please take a moment between now and the end of the party Monday night to visit a few of the other party guests. I would love to everyone who linked up to have other guests stop by for a visit.

    Remember if you visit two guests and leave me a comment that you did you could win a $15 Visa Gift Card.

  3. It’s me one more time =o) How do I follow you?

    • Lizz Says:

      I’m so glad you like the site! If you want, you can subscribe via email on the right site of my site. Sadly, I can’t seem to get google friend connect to work, but I’m still trying. I use google reader for sites I like to read (you’re already on my list!!)

  4. […] a marshmallow onto a lollipop stick, covering the outside with pink frosting (left over from these cupcakes), and then rolling them in Valentine […]

  5. […] 5)  I love Coca Cola.  I’ve even started cooking with it! (Check out this recipe for Coke Chicken, and this one for Devils Food Coke Cupcakes) […]


Leave a Reply

