A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Muffin Tin Monday – Only Muffin Cups January 10, 2011

Filed under: Food — Lizz @ 7:34 am
Tags: , ,

This week’s MTM theme is a little different, since it specifically requests no muffin tin.  We were just to use muffin cups or liners.  Lucky for me, I just bought some for one of our Christmas themes.  While Skylar and I were walking around the grocery store, we decided to add another element to the theme.  We would only use foods that start with S, and set up the cups to look like an s.  We walked around some more, planning the menu together.  Here’s what we came up with:

.

.

(From the top of the S going down):

String Cheese

Sandwich Squares (peanut butter and Nutella)

Salad

Salami Rolls

Squash (with veggie dip)

Seafood Salad with Saltines

Shapes (made from Fruit Strips)

Stuff (of the green variety)

Snickers Bar Pieces

.

The seafood salad used was store-bought, from the deli counter.  It’s a favorite around here, and is usually gobbled up straight out of the container.

.

Green Stuff is a family favorite.  I cannot remember if I have written about it before, but I promise I will the next time I make it.  For those who might recognize it, it is traditionally called Pistachio Salad, but around here its Green Stuff.

.

Want to see what others came up with for this fun theme?  Check out Muffin Tin Mom’s site!

.

Muffin Tin Monday at Her Cup Overfloweth

.

Have a great week everyone!

.

Lizz

 

11 Responses to “Muffin Tin Monday – Only Muffin Cups”

  1. Ann Says:

    Great idea! I like how all the foods start with “S” and the muffin tin liners are in the shape of an “S.” Very clever!!

  2. Nice work! Will have to remember this for our future “S week” (as we are doing the Letter of the Week curriculum)- you girls were very creative! Good job 🙂

  3. Heather Says:

    I love this idea! I think I might do it with their initials. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Lisa Says:

    A great idea. I love the alphabet theme.

  5. Super S meal. I love the grocery hunt for foods.

  6. Hmm… maybe I can trick her into letting me teach her stuff if I do it like this… (Normally, if I try to tell her or ask her what a letter or number is, she rolls her eyes at me and either says “B” or “No.” Stinker.)

    • Lizz Says:

      There’s nothing better than a sneaky education. The grocery store hunt for “s” foods was big hit. We’ll definately do that again!

  7. SnoopyGirl Says:

    Love the “S” theme! Happy Monday!

  8. Sandy Says:

    I love the S theme! 🙂

  9. Carrie Says:

    I love the S theme. By the way, that green stuff has been called “gross green stuff” in my family for as long as I can remember! (even though everyone likes it!)


Leave a Reply

