A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

5 Things – Blogging Resolutions January 2, 2011

Filed under: 5 Things — Lizz @ 8:27 am

Happy New Year Everyone!

.

I promised myself that this year I wouldn’t make a resolution.  I find that I make resolutions, and don’t really seem to follow through.  Then I thought again.  I have recently started this blog, and spent the first few months getting my feet wet.  I am still a novice, and I know that I have tons of room to grow.  So I’ve decided to set a few goals for myself.

.

#1 – Post a little more often

.

When I originally thought to start this blog I figured that 2-3 times a week seemed like a good interval for posting.  But…I think I could do a little more.  Something like 3-4 times a week.  This will require some advanced planning at times, but I think it is a reasonable goal.  I found that over the holidays, finding time to write posts was very difficult.  Hopefully I can use my experience over the last few weeks to be better prepared in 2011.

.

#2 – Improve my photography skills

.

The easiest way to do this would be to get myself one of those fancy shmancy camera.  But those are pretty darn expensive, so until that is a possibility, I would like to learn how to use my little point and shoot digital camera a little better.  I’ve taken a photography class before, so I do understand the basics of photography.  However, the camera I had for that class was an SLR camera that used real, old school, 35mm film.  Digital is a whole different concept.  Perhaps I could find a good class on digital photography or something, but in the end, I just want to show you all the best pictures I can.

.

#3 – Post some hairdos

.

My original intention when starting this blog was to do a lot of hairdos with a smattering of everything else we do.  What has actually happened is everything else we do, with 1 hairstyle!  I have found them much more difficult to record that I thought.  Basically, I am using both hands to do hair, leaving no hands for photo-taking.  Plus, if we are on our way somewhere, like school and work, there isn’t enough time to stop at each step and taken tons of photos.  Here is where planning ahead will help.  I need to find days where we don’t have much going on (good luck there), so I can do a ‘do without time constraints.  This way I can take photos (or even videos) as needed, and get the post written.

.

#4 – Try to be less wordy

.

This post is yet another example of how I can use too many words when I write.  I am also a process blogger, and a general over-explainer.  I need to learn to condense what I want to say into the fewest words possible.  Maybe I should start using Twitter.  Being limited to 140 words would be a real challenge for me.  I’ll just leave it at that.

.

#5 – Get the word out

.

I would love to see my stats increase.  I get super excited when I have a day with lots of people coming to read about whatever we have done.  But not every day is like that.  I don’t get paid for this blog.  I simply get a rush from knowing that other people enjoy the projects we do.  Anyone who knows me knows that I LOVE giving advice, or recommendations, or suggestions, and this blog is a great way for me to do that.  I am wondering if any of you wonderful bloggers out there have any suggestions on how you got yourselves out there.  What was the best way you found to connect yourself with new readers?

.

Thank you to those of you that continue to follow this blog.  I look forward to making improvements in 2011.  Here’s to resolutions I actually intend to keep!

.

Lizz

 

One Response to “5 Things – Blogging Resolutions”

  1. I did a few things to grow my viewer base. I am active on Facebook, so I link up my posts as I do them. Many of my friends who don’t ‘follow’ get to see them that way. I created a page for my blog on Facebook, but I hope to become a soulless corporate shill at some point, so I wanted a venue that people on FB who weren’t my friends could use to keep tabs on my posts. 🙂 I also joined NetworkedBlogs on Facebook, and now I set it up to autopublish for me on both my page and my blog’s page when I do a post.

    A neat, easy, and cheap way to increase traffic is to have a little giveaway. My friend does $5 Starbucks gift cards every few months. It only costs you $5, plus postage, and you can ask people to follow your blog, subscribe via email, and ‘like’ you on FB. You can even have them comment on other posts, just to get people reading your tips and such! When I did a giveaway, I made sure to link to that post on the posts that got the most viewers. For me, that was Muffin Tin Monday and What’s For Lunch Wednesday.
    Apparently FB has new rules, so you can’t do a giveaway ON Facebook (one that is only on FB, that is,) but you can post links to the giveaway on your blog.
    I also like to participate in blogger swaps from sites that I follow. I get exposed to other fun bloggers, and find new links from them, plus their viewers get exposed to me, when they post about the swap and what I sent them.


Leave a Reply

