A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Best of 2010 December 31, 2010

I have noticed a lot of people doing “top ten” and “best of” lists.  I thought I would join the party.  As I have only been blogging since September, I don’t have a huge pool of posts to sort through.  Regardless, in no special order, here are some of my favorite posts so far:

.

1. Pizza Roll-ups

.

All Done!

.

This family favorite was the first real post I did, outside of the good ‘ole “welcome to my blog” post.  It seemed like a natural for the list.

.

2. How to Open a Banana Like a Monkey

.


I have always enjoyed this little tip.  I giggled a lot while taking pictures for this post, because if someone would have walked in and seen me….

.

3. Tissue Paper Apple Tree

.

.

I loved doing this art project with Skylar.  It really turned out to be visually dramatic, and it is still hanging on our fridge.

.

4. Cupcake Bites

.

.

This little food activity was the first joint blogging project I did with my bff Mara of What’s For Dinner.  Not only did we have a great time making these super cute sweets with the help of Skylar, they were friggin’ delicious!  Nom Noms!

.

5. Ariel’s Beachy Do

.

.

First of all, I love this hairdo.  It’s so hippy and cool, and it also worked great with Skylar’s mermaid costume (we did this style no less than 3 times around Halloween).  I also love that it’s super duper easy.  A little prep work the night before and an easy quick hairdo in the morning.  I believe that this was the only hairdo that I was able to actually get posted in these last few months.  Don’t worry though.  I have a lot planned in the hairdo department, and I just need to get it all together. (I hope!).  This post was also followed up with a tutorial on how to create the little flower bobby pins.  You can check that out *HERE* if you wish

.

6. Curly Ribbon Clip

.

.

This cute do-it-yourself clip was a result of one of many times that I’ve seen something in a store and said, “I’m not paying for that!  I can make that myself!”  I actually found this process to be pretty fun, and I love that I can make cute ribbon accessories to match any outfit now!

.

7. Deviled Egg Contest

.

.

I loved making these eggs!  The idea of having a contest to make the best deviled eggs must be credited to my mother.  This family gathering was riddled with anticipation to taste and judge all of the entries.  I, of course, went for presentation, as this was the first time I ever made deviled eggs on my own.  To find out who won, you’re going to have to check out the post!  There is also a follow-up post for this one, explaining how to create the flower shaped eggs, using an egg shaper.  Check it out *HERE*.

.

8. Get Of of My Cupboards!

.

.

This has always been one of my favorite parenting tips, and I was really happy to find some photos of Skylar when she was 2 and actually using her drawer.  If you have a little one that refuses to stay out of your kitchen drawers and cabinets, you should really check this one out.

.

9. Kiddie Trail Mix

.

.

Ahh, my favorite treat to make for parties with kids in attendance.  The kids love it.  The grown-ups love it.  And it’s totally customizable to your tastes.  It’s a win-win-win!

.

10.  Advent Calendar

.

.

This advent calendar was so much fun to make (with lots of help from my kiddo).  I loved having a fun, clean, sugar-free way to count down the days to Christmas.  Skylar was fully in charge of counting (or subtracting really), and writing down the days left.  She did an amazing job, and it really helped her to understand exactly when the special day was here.  I didn’t have to answer “When is it going to be Christmas” a million times.  Maybe I should do this before her birthday too….

.

Last thing I want to share (or re-share) with all of you is my favorite Muffin Tin Meals we created this year.  These not only seem to be my most popular posts, but we also did so many in just 3 and a half months that they seem to require a special nod.  You can click the title to read the original post if you are interested.  I would like to say that these tins were not only incredibly fun to create, they have definitely helped decrease meal time whining.  I love getting Skylar’s input and creative suggestions, and making it happen.  Stay tuned for many more of these.

.

Under the Big Top

.

.

Leaves, Trees, and Harvest

.

.

TV Dinner

.

.

Christmas #1

.

.

Christmas #3

.

.

And my personal favorite for 2010…

.

Halloween

,

.

Whew!  And there you have it.  I hope you have all enjoyed the fun things we have done over the last few months.  I also hope you enjoyed it enough to keep following us in 2011.

.

Have a wonderful and safe New Years!
.

HERE’S TO 2011!!!!!!

.

Lizz

 

One Response to “Best of 2010”

  1. Jill Says:

    What a wonderful recap! I love the tissue paper apple tree so much I can’t wait to do it this fall.


Leave a Reply

