A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Muffin Tin Monday – Christmas, Week #3 December 20, 2010

Filed under: Food — Lizz @ 6:42 am
Tags: , ,

Okay, before you say anything…Yes, I went overboard this week.  All I can say in my defense is that an idea was planted in my head, and it just grew and grew.  And what was said idea?  To create a muffin tin meal based on the song “12 Days of Christmas”.  And I did.  Here’s what we came up with:

.

I have been working on my (point and shoot) camera skills, and obviously still need some practice.  The silicone cups I used were a beautiful bright red, but look orange in the pictures.  Sorry, but I promise it was festive.

.

I told Skylar that each of the characters from the songs left us something special for our muffin tin:

.

12 Drummers Drumming left us drum sticks (Pocky Sticks)

.

.

11 Pipers Piping left us their mad piping skills (mashed potatoes piped with a ziplock bag)

.

.

10 Lords a Leaping left Skylar with one of the foods that makes her jump for joy…Mac and Cheese

.

.

9 Ladies Dancing left us a music note (fruit leather, cut by hand)

.

.

8 Maids a Milking left a nice cup of milk

.

.

7 Swans a Swimming left us with some tin foil to wrap up any leftovers (in the shape of a swan, of course)

.

.

6 Geese a Laying laid us a beautiful hard-boiled egg

.

.

5 GOOOOOOOOLD RINGS!!!!!!! (Salerno butter cookies!!!!!)

.

.

4 Calling Birds left nuggets from another bird (chicken)

.

.

3 French Hens left french cut green beans

.

.

2 Turtle Doves left us some homemade turtle(ish) candies.  (I will post a tutorial on these soon)

.

.

And finally, the Partridge stuck around to show us the pear from her pear tree.

.

.

So, there you have it, all 12 days of Christmas represented as a muffin tin (tree). Whew!  Skylar loved everything about this meal.  I thought for sure she would go for the chocolate first, but surprised me by going after the hard boiled egg.  In the end, she ate every single bite.  Yeah!

.

I had a great time creating this.  If you are interested in what all the other moms are doing for Muffin Tin Monday, check out Muffin Tin Mom’s site.

Muffin Tin Monday at Her Cup Overfloweth

.

Thanks for making it all the way through this post, and have a great week!

.

Lizz

 

9 Responses to “Muffin Tin Monday – Christmas, Week #3”

  1. This is awesome! I love that you were able to come up with something yummy for each of the day!

  2. Very nice and a great idea too!!

  3. Lisa Says:

    What a really great tin!! So imaginative.

  4. lisa Says:

    this is a great idea.. I want to try this next year.. and using the cupcake holder to hold the muffin holders.. very smart… thanks for sharing..

  5. wow! I can’t believe you found something so creative for each cup! Well done, I am in awe of you!

  6. What a great idea and love all the creative explanations for each tin!

  7. Amazing! I had wanted to do a 12 Days one, but couldn’t think of anything past a bunch of bird-shaped cheese!

  8. So cool! Very clever ideas all around. And such a pretty partridge – I wouldn’t have got that back, it would have been spirited away by my bird-obsessed daughter…!

  9. FIIIIIVVVEEEE GOOOOLLLLDDDD RRRRIIINNNGGGGSSSS!!!!!! I love that you actually did this. I’ve missed you… lets hang out soon 🙂


Leave a Reply

