A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Muffin Tin Monday – Christmas #2 December 13, 2010

Filed under: Food — Lizz @ 8:47 am
Tags: , ,

As this weekend was so busy for our family, I was planning on taking a break this week from MTM.  The puppy dog eyes I got in response to telling Skylar this told me I should reconsider.  I didn’t have a plan in place, so I sort of did what I could with what I had in the house (which wasn’t much!)  Here’s what we ended up with for our second Christmas themed muffin tin:

.

.

Top Row (Left to Right): Green Pickles (bread and butter chips), Marshmallow Snowballs with red spots, Green Pistachios

Bottom Row (Left to Right): Green and Red Fruit Cocktail, Christmas Tree Sandwich,  Chex Mix “Presents”

.

I used pickles for 2 reasons.  First, they are green.  Second, every time we had a holiday party growing up, we always had pickles on the appetizer table (olives too).  I’m not sure why, but because of that pickles make me think of the holidays.

.

The sandwich was a basic cheese sandwich that I cut out by hand (I don’t have very many cookie cutters).  I used cheese for the star (which is actually a small flower cutter I have, but it works), and M&M’s for the ornaments.  I felt like Goldie Hawn  in Overboard, pushing M&M’s into a sandwich!

.

Skylar loved figuring out why each thing could be related to Christmas (mostly colors).  She ate almost everything, except for the red spots I put in with the marshmallow snowballs.  They were cinnamon red hots, which I was happy to eat for her.

.

If you want to see more amazing Holiday themed tins, check out Muffin Tin Mom’s Site:

.

Muffin Tin Monday at Her Cup Overfloweth

.

Have a great week everyone!

.

Lizz

 

5 Responses to “Muffin Tin Monday – Christmas #2”

  1. Love it! I found a 40-piece Wilton Christmas cutter set for $6 at Joann’s the weekend after Thanksgiving, which has made so many more things possible for me, shape-wise!
    What a yummy-looking meal!

  2. Great job coming up with a great Christmas muffin tin on a whim!

  3. Melissa Says:

    Looks like a festive improptu lunch! :o)

  4. kewkew Says:

    I think your tin was so creative. I always explain to my girls how each thing fits in with our theme. Never thought to see if they could figure it out themselves.

  5. Carrie Says:

    Yum! I love red hots. Very cute lunch.


Leave a Reply

