A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Game Day Crock Pot Beer Brats December 12, 2010

Filed under: Food — Lizz @ 11:05 am
Tags:

I have a confession to make.  I can’t grill.  Anything.  I’ve tried before, but I just don’t have the feel for it.  I also don’t generally care for grilled foods, as I don’t like any food that even has the potential of having a burnt spot on it.  Don’t get me wrong, I love burgers, hot dogs, brats, ect, but not grilled.  Yeah, I know I’m weird.

.

So one day, in the spirit of non-grilling, I did a little experiment while making beer brats.  Normally I would have marinated my brats in beer for a while, when handed them over to someone else to grill.  I thought to myself, “They taste so good marinated in beer, so wouldn’t they taste even better if they were cooked in beer?  For like, hours?”.  Lightening bolt! I will make them in my crock pot!

.

My experiment payed off big time, and resulted in the most flavorful, melt in your mouth (literally) brats ever!  I have made these brats several times now, and let me tell you, they are perfect every time (and no burnt spots!).  It will probably take you longer to read the title of this post than it will for your family to devour these delicious brats.

.

To make these brats, you will need to gather a few ingredients and supplies, and make sure to give yourself plenty of time (as they will cook for 4 hours).  You will need:

  • Brats (We usually use Johnsonville Stadium Brats, the ones that are sort of white in color)
  • Beer (We have done several tests, and have concluded that Bud Light makes the best beer brat, even over pricey fancy beers.  Not sure why)
  • Crock Pot
  • Sharp Knife
  • Buns and Condiments (optional)

.

.

You are now ready to create deliciousness…

.

First, figure out how many brats you will need, and check if they will fit in your crock pot.  If you are having trouble getting them all in, one option would be to cut them all in half, and put them in the pot vertically.  If you are hosting a party with lots of people, it might be better to borrow a second crock pot.

.

.

Once you are sure they will all fit properly, use your sharp knife to poke holes all over each brat.  I like using a sharp knife as opposed to a fork, as the skin on an uncooked brat can sometimes be difficult to penetrate.

.

.

Next, pack all the brats into the crock pot.  Completely cover the brats with fresh beer.  Feel free to drink one yourself.

.

.

Cover the pot, set the temperature to cook on low, and wait for 4 hours.

.

Once 4 hours have passed, turn the temperature down to keep warm.  I usually leave the brats in the pot for self-service, but you can also take them out to serve.  Be careful when removing, as they can fall apart easily.

.

.

Serve with or without buns, and with or without condiments. (I personally like it on a bun with nothing else on it. It has enough flavor all by itself)

.

(I couldn’t get a great picture of the finished product, but yes, we serve these on paper plates, as that just seems appropriate)

.

This has quickly become a family favorite, especially when sports are involved.  So for anyone watching the Bears game later, I hope you do so with a juicy crock pot beer brat in your hand while singing “Bear down! Chicago Bears!”.

.

Enjoy the rest of the day (blizzard or no!)

.

Lizz

 

3 Responses to “Game Day Crock Pot Beer Brats”

  1. This post is just filled with “that’s what she said” kind of lines… but I’m refraining 🙂
    Love you!

  2. […] and threw it away.  Okay, new plan…Let’s make the corned beef like I make my beer brats:  in the crock pot, covered with beer, and cooked on low for 8 delicious smelling […]


Leave a Reply

