A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Advent Calendar 2010 December 4, 2010

Filed under: Art Projects — Lizz @ 6:12 pm
Tags:

I realize I am a little late getting an advent calendar put together, but to be honest, it’s the first one I’ve ever done.  It took a little planning and I only got it up yesterday (on the 3rd).  Better late than never I guess!

.

I have never been crazy about those cardboard advent calendars that offer up a sub-par piece of chocolate for each day in December.  Now that I have been reading some other blogs, I have discovered that there are other interesting (sugar-free) ways to count down the days until Christmas.  I found a really great advent calendar idea on Giver’s Log, where she created a printable for an advent calendar on post-it notes.  I loved the cute design, but feared that if I made a mistake while putting post-it notes through our nice laserjet-needed-for-printing-graphic-arts-projects printer, I would be in big trouble.   I am a chicken, so I used Giver’s Log’s printable but modified the project.  Here’s the end result:

.

.

I feel like this calendar is almost like a piece of art, so I put it where all great art belongs: on the fridge.  It’s sort of big, so here’s a close up of the top to help get a better idea of what’s going on here:

.

.

For each day, there is a graphic showing a string of lights.  Every day one more lightbulb is added.  This is seen more easily on the printable:

.

.

Here’s what you will need to create this calendar:

.

  • Green paper, cut into 2.5″ x 2.5″ squares (you will need 26 squares)
  • Sparkly or shiny paper (I used metallic glittered fun foam), cut into a 3.25″ x 3.25″ square (you will only need 1)

.

.

  • clear mounting strips.  These will be cut into smaller pieces for this project.  (for non-permanent sticking)
  • double-sided tape. (for permanent sticking)

.

To Assemble:

.

Using double-sided tape, stick a white square into the center of a green square.

.

.

Put a small piece of the mounting strip on the back of the matching red square, and put it on top of the white square.

.

.

.

By using the mounting strips here, you will be able to remove the red paper later without ripping the white paper.  Repeat this process with the squares for all 25 days.  You will end up with one extra green square.

.

For Christmas Day (the 25th), use double-sided tape to add the glittery square to the back of the green square.

.

.

I also created and printed out a “Days ’til Xmas” sign, and cut out a green border for it.  I didn’t take pictures of that part, but you can print out the sign here.  (this was done in Harrington font)

.

Now, select a wall (or fridge) to put the calendar.  Use the mounting strip pieces to attach everything to the wall.  These mounting pieces will come off without peeling any paint, or harming whatever it’s sticking to  (I LOVE THESE THINGS!!) At the top you will put the empty green square on the left, and the “days ’til x-mas” sign on the right.  Put the completed squares up, in order, in rows of 4.  You will have only the 25th square left to be in a row by itself.  We liked the look of having all of the pieces a little skewed instead of perfectly straight. We embellished with some cute glittery ornaments I found at Michael’s on clearance.

.

Now, every day, take the red square for the day (i.e. on the 3rd, so we took the square with 3 bulbs on it), and place it in the empty green square.  I had Skylar count the days left until Christmas, and write that number in the recently moved square.

.

.

I was able to do this whole thing over the course of an afternoon, in between drop off, pick up, dr appointment, cooking, ect.  Skylar did the majority of the taping and sticking, and she loved the end result.  If you are looking for a quick and easy (but visually popping!) advent calendar, this might work for you.

.

Did you make an advent calendar this year?  Comment below and tell me about it, or link to it!

.

Have a great December!

.

Lizz

 

One Response to “Advent Calendar 2010”

  1. […] graphic onto a square of green paper for a background.  (for the full tutorial with measurements, *click here*) I also printed the graphics onto red paper, and used a small piece of mounting strip on the back […]


Leave a Reply

