A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Kiddie Trail Mix November 17, 2010

Filed under: Food — Lizz @ 7:18 am
Tags: ,

I love trail mix.  But I also hate trail mix.

.

I can be a somewhat picky eater.  I like peanuts, walnuts, and pistachios, but generally don’t care for other nuts.  Trail mix always seems to have things like cashews and almonds, which I don’t care for.  I will pick them out and give them away, or throw them out, but it feels like a waste.  So I started making my own trail mix with all things I wanted, and nothing I didn’t care for.  Hallelujah!

.

Once Skylar came along, I started making what I called Kiddie Trail Mix for her.  I included all the things that she liked, and things that I thought was safe and healthy for her to eat.  A few years ago, I brought Kiddie Trail Mix to a friend’s house when she held a Halloween party for the kids.  While the kids liked it, the moms loved it!  3 Halloween parties later, she is still requesting Kiddie Trail Mix.  The ingredients change every year, but here’s what I made for her most recent Halloween party:

.

.

This batch included:

  • Apple Crisp crunchy granola bars by Nature’s Valley, broken into pieces
  • Chocolate Teddy Grahams
  • Honey Nut Chex
  • Yogurt covered raisins
  • Cherry juice infused cranberries (I thought I was grabbing dried cherries, but these were very good)
  • Organic Banana Chips from Trader Joe’s
  • Apple Clusters from Trader Joe’s

.

All you have to do is pour the ingredients into a bowl (or cauldron!) and mix it up.

.

The best thing about this mix is that every single item can be changed/eliminated/added to make it the perfect mix for your family.  It’s great for picky eaters or food allergies.  I don’t use anything that needs to be refrigerated or cooked, so it’s great for an on-the-go snack.

.

Get Creative and Enjoy!

.

Lizz

.

P.S.  Incase anyone is interested, here are a few of the other things I have used in my kiddie mixes:

  • Other Cereals: Cheerios, Kix, cookie crisp
  • Dried Fruit: pineapple, apricots, cherries, raisins
  • Crackers/Cookie: Wheat Thins, mini Ritz sandwiches, Nilla cookies
  • Nuts/Seeds: sunflower seeds, peanuts, pistachios
  • Other: popcorn, variety of granola bars

.

 

5 Responses to “Kiddie Trail Mix”

  1. Jill Says:

    Yum! I love a good trail mix. I wish I had a Trader Joe’s nearby. Everyone is always talking about all the cool food stuff they get from there.

  2. Aria Says:

    I love trail mix—nuts and dried cranberries or with some granola is my favorite!! Our girls love granola and nuts—I should try to make them some! Thanks for the idea;)
    Blessings,
    Aria
    We found you on Sunday Best–please come and visit us at http://growing3godlygirlz.blogspot.com–we'd LOVE to see you there;)

  3. Jessica Says:

    Yay! my favorite! Don’t forget that it came in a perfect for halloween witch’s cauldron. 🙂

  4. Deborah Andersen Says:

    Lizz I love your blog!

  5. […] it myself.  I’ve shown you a great kiddie version I did for a Halloween party last year (Check it out here), but this is a slightly more sophisticated […]


Leave a Reply

