A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Muffin Tin Monday – The Food Pyramid November 15, 2010

Filed under: Food — Lizz @ 6:43 am
Tags: , , ,

Welcome back to Muffin Tin Monday!!

.

This week’s theme is The Food Pyramid.  While this seems like an easy theme, I found it somewhat difficult.  My biggest issue was that the food pyramid is, in fact, a pyramid and not a rectangle (as my muffin tin is shaped)

.

Here’s the current food pyramid as shown on the United States Department of Agriculture’s Website (USDA)

.

.

While pretty, and colorful, I found this diagram a little confusing.  I am used to my food pyramid looking like this:

.

source

.

And that is what I envisioned this tin looking like.  So how can one create a three-dimensional muffin tin?  With a cupcake tree!

.

.

I will present these items a little differently this time, by food group: (yes, some things could count in multiple groups)

Grain Group: Chili Mac (x2), Buttered Noodles (x2)

Vegetable Group: Green Beans, Corn

Fruit Group: Flower Shaped Apple, Flower Shaped Pear

Dairy Group: Heart Shaped Cheese Slices, Yogurt

Meat/Poultry/Nut Group: Chicken Nuggets, Peanuts

Sweets Group: Cupcake

.

Here is a view of the backside:

.

.

Chili Mac is one of our family’s favorite quick meals.  I can never seem to make it as well as my mom does, but she assures me I’m doing it right.  It’s simply:

1 lb of ground beef, browned

2 cans of tomato soup

macaroni noodles, cooked and drained

.

Add both cans of tomato soup to the ground beef.  Add macaroni noodles until the ratio is right for you.  (I always end up with extra noodles to save for another time).  Season to taste (I usually use salt, pepper, and onion powder).  Easy, and yummy.

.

.

In the end, Skylar and I were both very pleased with how our tin-less muffin tin meal turned out.  We conversed about all of the elements of the food pyramid while putting everything together.  I don’t know if she was paying much attention, but it’s a start!

.

To see some other Food Pyramid themed tins, check out Muffin Tin Mom’s Site.

.

Muffin Tin Monday at Her Cup Overfloweth

.

Have a great week!

.

Lizz

.

P.S. I could help myself….”(Ding) MEAT GROUP!!”  Anyone?  Anyone? Encino Man?  Funniest explanation of the food groups ever!

 

9 Responses to “Muffin Tin Monday – The Food Pyramid”

  1. Shannyn Says:

    I know what you mean, I found the modern “Food Pyramids” confusing too – you should see the latest one Harvard has put out, it’s all over the shop. Fine for adults maybe, but no way would you get a kid to work it out. I went for the old-fashioned pyramid too (but mine was only 2D!). I liked your cupcake tree idea.

  2. LOVE LOVE LOVE this!!! i wonder where you got all that cute stuff?? 🙂

    Thank you for the Encino man reference. It’s one o fthe millions of reasons I love you. Weezin’ the joooooce

  3. Melissa Says:

    The cupcake stand was such a clever idea! Very cute MTM!

  4. Holly Says:

    I love how everything’s on the cupcake stand!

  5. JDaniel4's Mom Says:

    This is such a great way to make a pyramid. Love the Chili Mac!

  6. I love your idea of using the cupcake stand! Genius! It looks so yummy, especially with that awesome cupcake on top.

  7. What everyone else said!

  8. alison Says:

    oh I love this, looks so good, especially the yummy cupcake on top!!

  9. love the cupcake stand idea…so cute!


Leave a Reply

