A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Craft Flower Accessories November 14, 2010

Filed under: Accessories — Lizz @ 12:27 pm
Tags:

I wanted to do a post to show you all how we got the flowers into Skylar’s hair for this hairstyle:

.

.

I purchased these flowers in the crafting section of Walmart:

.

.

They are perfect and pretty, but needed to be attached to bobby pins in order to use them in the hairstyle.  The easiest way to do this might have been to glue them on, but I was worried that with the multiple times we would need to use them, they might pop off.  So, I sewed them on.  Sort of.

.

The backs of these flowers didn’t have any sort of place where a bobby pin could hold on, so I used a needle and thread just to create some treading in the back:

.

.

Once I did that, it was as simple as slipping a bobby pin through the thread

.

.

From the front, it will look like this:

.

.

Now, the flower can be easily slid into any hairstyle for a little extra special touch.

.

I found that for the flower I used over the ponytail holder in the hairstyle above, a bobby pin was not ideal.  Instead, I attached the flower to a tiny pinch clip, as I did at the end of this project.

.

Have fun adding a little pop of wow to your daughter’s hairdo!

.

Lizz

.

This project is linked to these parties:

Craft-O-Manic Mondays @ Craft-O-Manic

Inspire Me Monday @ Singing Three Little Birds

Made by You Monday @ Skip to My Lou

Tip Me Tuesday @ Tip Junkie
Tuesday Time Out @ Reasons to Skip the Housework
TOO Cute Tuesday @ Funky Polka Dot Giraffe

Trifty Thursday @ Thrifty 101

Creative Juice Thursday @ Momnivore’s Dilemma

For the Kids Friday @ Sun Scholars
Simply Link @ Simply Designing
Feature Yourself Friday @ Fingerprints on the Fridge

 

6 Responses to “Craft Flower Accessories”

  1. Marnie Says:

    Clever!! I’m sending this on to my daughter who has 3 darling little girls. Actually, maybe, I’ll just make some up for her. Anyway, fun idea. Thanks for sharing.

    • Lizz Says:

      Thank you! I hope you have a chance to check out some of the other hair accessories we’ve made. I’m sure those girls are going to love them!

  2. M Says:

    Love those! Having 3 girls, I am always looking for easy hair things. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Dani Says:

    So very pretty! I love how beautiful and understated they are! I featured this tutorial on my blog and linked back to you! Let me know if you want any of the info changed!
    http://www.livecreativelynow.com/2012/05/great-flower-tutorials.html


Leave a Reply

