A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Ariel’s Beachy Hair November 4, 2010

Filed under: Accessories,Hair Styles — Lizz @ 12:04 am
Tags: ,

I know that technically Halloween is over, but not for us.  We will be going to a super fun kiddie Halloween party on Sunday (this is a yearly event that just worked best for everyone after the holiday).  This means we will be doing Skylar’s Ariel costume for the third time.  The good news is that because of our multiple costume wearing situation, I was FINALLY able to pull together a hairdo post!! This hairdo was not intended to actually look like Ariel’s hairdo (as Skylar is obviously a blondie).  I wanted to create a fun and easy beachy do that could also work outside of Halloween.  Here’s what I came up with:

.

.

I love the way her beachy waves came out.  Want to know how this beautiful head of hair happened?  It’s simple…

.

First, you need to create some waves.  Sure you could spend the time to curl them with a triple barrel curler, but that would take forever.  I chose to cheat a little.  The night before Halloween, I left Skylar’s hair wet after a shower (wetting it down slightly with a spray bottle will work just as well) and put it into several braids.

.

.

There is no strict method here.  You do not have to make perfectly shaped sections of hair (it’s almost better if you don’t).  I would however highly recommend creating the part you will need for tomorrow.  I usually part Skylar’s hair slightly off-center on the right side.  Other tips: The smaller the braids, the smaller the waves.  I went for sort of medium-sized.  You can also play around with how high or low your braids start.  If you start them higher up than I did you will have waves starting closer to the roots.

.

Have your daughter sleep in the braids.  By morning her hair will be dry.  Gently remove the ponytail holders and release the braids.  DO NOT brush it out, and DO NOT get it wet.  Simply use your fingers to separate the plaits.  If you created the part before you braided, her hair should naturally fall into the perfect place.  The result will be something like this:

.

.

While this is pretty on its own, we wanted to add a little twisty flair.

.

Starting on one side of the part, grab approx half of the front section of hair.  Give it a little clockwise twist (for the right side.  Go counterclockwise for the left side) Don’t mind the eyeball.  It is Halloween after all.

.

.

Continue the twist out about 2/3 of the way down the section of hair.  Then repeat for the front section of hair underneath your original section.

.

.

Have your daughter hold these twists for you, and repeat the twists on the other side.  Bring all four twists together at the back of the head.

.

.

Using a clear elastic, tie all four twists together.  Normally these fly aways drive me nuts, but I think this style is an exception.  It makes her look windblown.

.

.

Spray the hair with a small amount of hairspray to keep it all in place.  Embellish with the accessories of your choice.  I found these cute little flowers and turned them into bobby pins and pinch clips.  I will post that process soon.

.

.

I wanted to get a few pictures of the final product, but I’m learning to use some new settings on my camera, and come up with some strange coloring.  Anyways, the hair turned out great.

.

.

.

I hope you all enjoyed your Halloween as much as we did.

.

Lizz

 

One Response to “Ariel’s Beachy Hair”

  1. I can’t wait for my daughter’s hair to grow. She’s 3 & her hair curls up so much. She also won’t even let me brush her hair. I chase her around the house.


Leave a Reply

