A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Asian Market – A First and Second October 17, 2010

Filed under: Things To Do — Lizz @ 12:43 am
Tags:

I wanted to write about our first experience at an Asian market.  It took a little while, and I have in the meantime gone again.  I have to say, it’s a really interesting experience that Skylar loved just as much as I did.  I didn’t take pictures inside, since there were lots of people, and I don’t like to post pictures without permission.  So here’s what I’ve got for you:

.

A trip like this would of course take place with my bestie Mara, of What’s for Dinner?. She took us to Mitsuwa in Arlington Heights.
.

.

This place is massive.  There is a full grocery store (with not a single label I can read), a book store, a travel agency, a video store, a fine china store, a food court (really good food), and a sample station (Skylar’s favorite part).

.

So far most of our purchases have been found in the candy aisle (I do plan to create a meal that will require more intense items).  So I thought you might be interested in seeing some of the fun items we have been indulging in:

.

.

Coke flavored candy that tastes a lot like bottle caps.

.

.

Chocolate covered biscuit sticks

.

.

I’m not really sure what these are exactly.  But I do know they are tasty.  They are sort of like a smoother version of oyster crackers, with a sweetness to them.  They just melt in your mouth.  And they’re cute.

.

My absolute favorite find was a product that I loved in the early 90’s.  It was called Koala Yummies at the time.  They were a cookie/cracker that had chocolate on the inside, and a picture of a cartoon koala on the outside.  I remember them having a very distinct hexagon shaped box.  Here’s what I found at Mitsuwa:

.

.

It may have a different name, but it is exactly what I remember.  This is the family pack, that not only has individual sized packages inside, but also trading cards.  Just incase.

.

.

.

It’s fun to see what all the little koalas are up to.  A few that I’ve seen are playing the drums, opening gifts, listening to an ipod (obviously these have been updated since 1990), blowing up a balloon, screaming (?!?!).  But my personal favorite was this one:

.

.

.

Yes.  That koala is picking its nose.  If nothing else, these treats will lead to interesting conversation.

.

So there you have a little bit of our Asian market experience.  If you ever happen to be at Mitsuwa, you are most likely to find me in the candy aisle and Skylar at the sample station.  It only took her one visit to figure out how that works.

.

Have any of you had an interesting first experience lately?  I’d love to hear about it!

.

Lizz

 

4 Responses to “Asian Market – A First and Second”

  1. Jill Says:

    Those are awesome!

  2. YAY MITSUWA!!! Thanks for accompanying me on my search for strange ingredients… methinks a sushi adventure is in the cards (now that i know how to make the rice!)

  3. […] took a little trip to our local asian market and picked up some pocky sticks for the magic wands.  Our cauldron cake is a mystery […]


Leave a Reply

