A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Deviled Eggs Contest October 12, 2010

Filed under: Food — Lizz @ 10:03 am
Tags:

I got an email from my mom a few weeks ago.  It gave us a few upcoming dates that my parents wanted everyone to come over for Sunday football (a growing tradition, GO BEARS!).  She also noted something that I immediately got very excited about: We’re having a deviled eggs contest!  My brain starting going in a million directions, until I realized one very important thing:  I’ve never made deviled eggs by myself before!  I’ve helped, but never been solely responsible.  Oh dear!  I knew that I would never be able to compete for taste, so I’m going to do what I do best…make it look good!  Here was my submission:

.

Deviled Egg Flowers with Parsley Stems

.

While they turned out a little messier than I envisioned, I was pretty pleased with the final product.  For those of you that are wondering, I used egg molds to shape the eggs into flowers before deviling them. Not to worry, I will tutorial this for you tomorrow.  As this tray was meant more for visual pleasure, I went with a more traditional recipe.  I didn’t get this recipe from anywhere.  Just using my noggin, and trying to remember my assisting experience.  I apologize for the lack of exact measurements, but I generally cook by taste and sight.

.

Ingredients:

Hard-boiled eggs

Mayo

Dijon mustard (pardon me…do you have any…)

Onion powder

Salt and pepper

Paprika

.

Easy Hard-Boiled Eggs:

Place eggs gently into a large pan.

Cover completely with cold water.

Add a sprinkle of salt to the water and heat to a boil.

Lower heat to low/medium, and allow eggs to simmer for 2 minutes.

Remove from heat.  Keep eggs in pot of hot water for 10-12 minutes.

Drain.  If you are making an egg recipe and will need to peel the eggs, cover the pot with a lid, and gently shake the eggs to break up the shells.

Cover again with cold water to help cool the eggs for easy handling.

Peel the eggs.

.

Traditional Deviled Eggs by Lizz:

Traditionally, these eggs are cut vertically.  This can be done using a sharp knife, or dental floss (great for getting precise cuts with no knife marks. Try it!!)

Gently pop the yellow yolk out into a bowl.  Try to not break the whites so they can be filled again later.

Once all the yolks are separated, use a fork to separate out any large chunks.

Add one spoonful of mayo and a squirt of mustard at a time until you get a nice creamy consistency.  You don’t want to add to much, and if you taste as you go, you will have a good idea of the balance of mayo and mustard.

Once you have a good creamy mixture, add onion powder, salt, and pepper to taste.

Scoop the mixture into a ziplock bag, and snip the corner with scissors.  You can now use this like a pastry bag to fill the egg white shells.

Tap a little sprinkle of paprika onto the top of each completed egg.

Voila!

.

I will confess here that this is the exact same collection of ingredients I use to make egg salad.  I guess you just stick with what works!

.

So, you also might be asking about my competition.

.

My cousin’s delish eggs that apparently had ham in them (so good!):

.

I also love her egg tray!

.

My mom is the one who really pushed the envelope.  Her eggs had crab meat, and mango chutney!  And you probably noticed those red things on the eggs.  Yes, those would be cherries!  I was a little nervous to try these, but I have to say, they were surprisingly good.  I would have never of thought to put those ingredients together (which is why I went for presentation!)

.

.

My dad was given the difficult job of “Judge”.  He scratched his head a bit, but came up with a very decisive “3 Way Tie!”.  Thanks Dad!  I think we all did amazing, and these eggs were not long for this world.

.

I did learn something very interesting about my daughter through this whole processes.  She LOVES hard-boiled eggs.  She ate them plain, she ate them with a little salt, she ate them as deviled eggs, she ate them as egg salad…yeah.  Good to know that I can cook up a few eggs and keep them in the fridge for a super easy snack or meal.

.

I hope you all enjoyed our little family contest, and I hope to see you all back tomorrow for an egg mold tutorial.

.

So Mom?  What are we doing for the next Sunday football party?

.

Lizz

 

3 Responses to “Deviled Eggs Contest”

  1. Kelly Says:

    Yes – this was a lot of fun and the pressure was really on to “push the envelope”. I knew that I was going to be for some stiff competition. When I found the crab/mango chutney recipe I knew that was what I wanted to prepare. The mixture was delicious but…. it wasn’t very pretty – just plain. Then my thoughts went to presentation and how I could win. My granddaugther – the infamous Skylar” LOVES maraschino cherries and will eat them right out of the jar and so I thought SCORE – Skylar will love mine best because of the cherries. She went right for the cherries like I knew she would – however – her palate didn’t quite get past the crab/chutney mix. I lost her vote – to her mom’s flower petal, traditional flavored recipe. I think there was bias in that vote.

  2. […]   Deviled Egg Flowers […]


Leave a Reply

