A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Curly Ribbon Clip September 22, 2010

Filed under: Accessories — Lizz @ 10:13 am
Tags:

Recently I saw a cute clip with curly ribbons at one of the stores I frequent, but it wasn’t a good color.  I thought to myself…”I can do that.”.  This phrase usually means I have a new activity on my hands (hence the blog!).  This also coincides perfectly with a recent obsession I have developed for buying ribbon.  I love that there are so many different colors and patterns and sizes, and the possibilities seem endless.  So here is my very first hair accessory project using ribbon:

.

.

I gathered everything I was going to need for the job:

.

.

Stuff List:

  • Ribbon of your choice (I used 3/8″)
  • Bowl of water
  • Dowel rods (the smaller the rod, the tighter the curl)
  • Wooden clothes pin
  • Cookie sheet covered with tin foil
  • Tiny pinch clips
  • Needle and thread
  • A lighter (not pictured, oops)
  • Oven, preheated to 200 degrees

.

My first task was to get a plain flat ribbon to curl permanantly.  This ribbon was chosen specially for someone that I know will be reading this…

.

.

Cut 3 pieces of ribbon in equal lengths.  Remember that they will be shorter after being curled.  Put all 3 ribbons into the bowl of water.

.

.

Take one ribbon out of the water, and gently squeeze out excess water.  Using one of the clothes pins, clip one end of the ribbon to the dowel rod.  Begin wrapping the ribbon around the rod at a slight angle.  Keep the sides of the ribbon as close together as possible without overlapping.  Clip the other end of the ribbon with another clothes pin, and place rod on the cookie sheet.

.

.

Place the cookie sheet in the oven.  Check the ribbon every ten minutes or so to see if they are dry by running your finger over the ribbons.  Do not remove the clips to check.  When dry, remove from the oven, and let them sit until cooled.  Use caution, as the wooden items will be hot as well.  When cooled, unclip and unwind the ribbons.

.

.

To finish off the ribbons, you will need to make sure the ends do not fray.  This can be done by using a lighter to seal the ends.  I cut my ends into a nice angle before taking this step.  You will not need to actually touch the ribbon with the flame, as you could set the ribbon on fire (oh no!).  Putting the flame close to the ribbon will melt the ends slightly.

.

.

Now that task #1 is complete, it’s time for task#2: putting together the clip.  Put the middle of the 3 ribbons together like so:

.

.

Using the needle and thread, put a few stitches in the middle of the ribbons to keep them together.  Do not tie it off yet.

.

.

Take one of these tiny clips,

.

.

and hold it open.  Then thread the needle through the opening where the coil is.

.

.

Pull the clip down to the ribbons, and continue to sew the clip to the ribbons until it is secure.  Tie off the thread and cut it.  The clip will be in the back, so arrange the ribbons in the front until they look right and cover the knots from the thread.  I hope this makes sense, since I wasn’t able to get good pictures to help visualize this part.  Please let me know if I need to explain this better.

.

.

And there you have it!

.


.

I know this seems like a lot of steps, but I’m pretty sure it took me longer to write this post than it did to actually make this clip.  I hope you all enjoy making these as much as I did.  Bouncing those curly ribbons around is so much fun!

.

I am submitting this accessory to a bunch of linky parties.  Click the image to check them out!

.





Tip Junkie handmade projects

.

.

Wishing you all happy color coordination!

.

Lizz

 

 

4 Responses to “Curly Ribbon Clip”

  1. Kelly Dietrich aka Grammy Says:

    Very cute model you have there. Clever idea – I like it. Please make some to keep at my house for the times that the model is visiting..

  2. Yep, you’re right, I’m reading this 🙂 Love the cupcake ribbon, and the project is so cute!! Wish it were still appropriate for me to wear fun hair ribbons…


Leave a Reply

