A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Muffin Tin Monday – Shapes September 20, 2010

Filed under: Food — Lizz @ 10:26 am
Tags: , ,

First, let me apologize for the over-abundance of food related posts I have done so far.  I promise to balance out a little more soon, but I was so excited about this project that I couldn’t help doing one more.  And so…

.

I would like to introduce Muffin Tin Monday!  This little activity is managed by Michelle at Muffin Tin Mom.  She sets the theme (if any) for the week.  I am thoroughly tickled to be participating in this.  Please check out her site if you are as excited about this concept as I am.

Muffin Tin Monday at Her Cup Overfloweth

.

This week’s theme was “shapes”.  I figured this was a great theme to get started with, so I jumped in head first, and here’s what I came up with:

.

.

Top row from Left to Right: banana slices with fruit leather hearts and flowers; checkerboard apple; buttered bow tie pasta

Bottom row from Left to Right: tear drop shaped almonds; sandwich swirl circles; cheese stick line

.

Most items here are self explanatory, but I will briefly explain the apple and sandwich.

.

The apple is much simpler than it looks.  It’s done by simply scoring the skin of the apple with horizontal lines and vertical lines.  Then you pop out squares to make it look like a checkerboard.  I would be happy to do a picture tutorial on this, or you can check out where I learned it, at Bento for Kidlet.

.

The sandwich is also easier than it seems.  This one has ham, cheese, and little mayo.  To make it look like a swirl, I took a piece of bread, cut off the crust, and then used a rolling pin to flatten it.  I added the ingredients, and rolled it up.  Using a sharp knife, I cut the roll into bite-sized pieces.  Done.  Again, I would be happy to do a tutorial for this method, or take a peek at Another Lunch. (This is also the site that I first found Muffin Tin Mondays)

.

I love this for several reasons.  First of all it’s fun, and Skylar was really excited about eating her lunch today.  That makes it worth it right there.  I also like that I am paying a lot more attention to what I am actually putting on her plate (or muffin tin).  I am giving her perfectly sized portions of healthy foods.  It feels like a treat without junk food.  It may take a little bit longer to prepare than a normal lunch, but it’s really not as much as you might think.  For a fun and interesting weekend meal, I give it an A+.

.

I hope you all enjoyed seeing this as much as I enjoyed making it.  Please let me know what you think.  Should I keep participating?

.

Wishing you all a great week!

.

Lizz

 

6 Responses to “Muffin Tin Monday – Shapes”

  1. Muffin tins really help me with portions too. Thanks for explaining how you did the apple.

  2. Love the idea, and your execution was so creative!

  3. Kristie Says:

    Super cute. I love the apple. I’m glad you said it’s easier than it look because I’ve been scared to try it. Thanks.

  4. Yes you should continue participating- your tin was great! I just did my first checkered apple recently too and I loved how easy it was but how much fun it added to my son’s lunch.


Leave a Reply

