A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Summer Bucket List May 12, 2011

Filed under: Things To Do — Lizz @ 11:31 am
Tags:

source

While finally catching up on reading some of my favorite blogs, I happened across a new (to me) blog called Little Wonder Days.  She had a great idea for a link up party:  A Summer Bucket List!  I thought it would be fun to give it a try.  (I found this through Moms for Xanax, who has the best blog name ever!)

.

Photobucket

.

I thought it would be tough to come up with a good list, so I checked out the other lists for some inspiration.  After finding some really great ideas there, adding in my own, and talking it over with Skylar, we have our list.  I thought our list would be about 20 items long.  (ahem) Try 51.  I’m not sure we can do all of it, but we are sure gunna try!  And we will definately keep you posted on our progress.

.

So, in no particular order…here is our Summer 2011 Bucket List:

.

  1. Go swimming at the pool
  2. Go to the beach
  3. Celebrate Skylar’s birthday at the park
  4. Go camping
  5. Roast marshmallows and make S’mores
  6. Make a complete meal over a fire
  7. Catch and release fireflies
  8. Go horseback riding
  9. Ride in a paddle boat
  10. Go miniature golfing
  11. Teach Skylar how to play baseball
  12. Teach Skylar earn how to ride a bike
  13. Go to a play
  14. Visit the Art Institute, Museum of Science and Industry, Field Museum, Planetarium, and Aquarium
  15. Ride the train
  16. Visit the Children’s Museum
  17. Visit the Zoo
  18. Take a bike ride to the botanical garden
  19. Go on a scavenger hunt
  20. Play flashlight tag
  21. Visit a farmers market
  22. Make homemade ice cream sandwiches
  23. Make frozen bananas
  24. Make Popsicles
  25. Go to “you pick” farm
  26. Go to a waterpark
  27. Have a water balloon fight
  28. Go to an outdoor concert
  29. Make bubbles and a bubble wand
  30. Go to a parade
  31. See fireworks
  32. Visit a fair
  33. Go bowling
  34. Go to an amusement park
  35. Have a family game night
  36. Take a walk
  37. Go to the drive-in
  38. Go to a baseball game
  39. Read books outside
  40. Roller Skate
  41. Have a no-tv day
  42. Organize the house/spring cleaning
  43. Have a wii night
  44. Plant something and keep it alive
  45. Finally use our butterfly kit
  46. Try at least 10 new recipes
  47. Introduce a few new foods
  48. Learn to jump rope
  49. Visit both ice cream shops near us often
  50. Make lemonade like I saw on Diners Drive-ins & Dives (by grinding whole lemons!)
  51. Donate Skylar’s hair to locks of love

.

Whew! I think we have a lot of work to do!  Are any of you inspired to create a summer bucket list of your own?  I would love to hear about it!

.

Have a great rest of the week!

.

Lizz

.

***UPDATE***

For those of you that are not familiar with the gloriousness that is Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives, allow me to explain.  It’s a show on the Food Network, with Guy Fieri.  He travels around the country finding little hole-in-the-wall places with amazing food.  This show makes me drool every time!

.

The specific episode I was talking about is one where Guy goes to the Gold ‘N Silver Inn in Reno Nevada.  They make a dish there called Baked Lemonade Porkchops. (For that amazing recipe, Click Here)  I was most intrigued with the way they made their lemonade.  They ground up whole lemons, and then strained out the pulp.  I want to try this so bad!!  I found a video of all of this, so if you are drooling like I am right now, check it out…

.

.

I will be linking this post to these parties:

Sensational Sundays @ What’s for Dinner?

Link & Learn @ No Time For Flashcards

 

9 Responses to “Summer Bucket List”

  1. Flashlight tag and family game night sound fun! How awesome that Skylar has enough hair to donate- I just wish Coco’s would grow! I have to check out that lemonade on DD&D. I love that show, but it makes me famished! Thanks for the kind words too.

    • Lizz Says:

      Skylar’s been workin on that hair for almost 6 years now. I could count on one hand how many haircuts she’s had!

      I love DD&D!! Maybe it would be helpful to show everyone what I’m talking about so I will update this post with a link to the episode I’m talking about.

  2. Cindy Penkala Says:

    Sounds like a lot of fun but last time I checked Summer was not 52 weeks long.

  3. I’m so happy to have you link up your list! We didn’t finish our list last summer, but we sure did have fun trying. Hope you have a great summer. Thanks for linking up.

    • Lizz Says:

      Well, a huge thank you for the idea! Skylar is so excited about our list that we will probably cheat a little and start before the end of the school year (4 more weeks still!). Have a great scavenger hunt!

  4. JDaniel4's Mom Says:

    Your list is amazin. I love the variety of things you have on it.

  5. [...] what I’m talking about (what’s a summer bucket list?), you can read the original post *here*. This is basically a to-do list for the summer. The idea and link up is from a lovely blog called [...]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 168 other followers