A Little Bit of This & That

The Random Things We Love to Make and Do

Coke Chicken January 20, 2011

Filed under: Food — Lizz @ 9:16 am
Tags:

Anyone who has ever met me, knows how I feel about Coca Cola. I am addicted obsessed a fan. I don’t drink coffee, so coke is my main source of caffeine. If I could take it by IV I would be a happy lady.

.

.
Needless to say, when my best friend Mara (of What’s For Dinner) told me about her recipe for Diet Coke Chicken, I ran through a whole gamut of emotions:

  • Cooking with Coke!!! YES!!!!
  • Coke and chicken?  I don’t know about that…
  • Wait, wait…Coke and ketchup….EEWWW!!!
  • What is “Diet” Coke?

In the end, she convinced me to try it (but with regular coke of course).

.

IT WAS SOOOOO GOOD!!!!

.

It’s amazing how the odd combination of ingredients made for such an amazing flavor.  I have tweaked her recipe slightly, and would love to share it with all of you.  So without any further adieu…

.

Coke Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb chicken boneless skinless chicken breast or tenderloin
  • 1 onion or 2 shallots
  • 1 cup ketchup
  • 1 can coke
  • 1/2 can cherry coke (optional)

.

I will admit that I didn’t know what a shallot was for a very long time.  I now understand that shallots are a small type of onion.  They have a lovely sweet flavor, that’s almost a little garlicky.  Yum.  When you peel them, they are purplish, which is a fun surprise.  If you care to find them in the store, they look something like this…

.

.

You will want to chop these up, and brown them slightly in a pan with a splash of oil.  You will want a pan like the one below that will hold a lot of liquid

.

.

I will then throw my chicken into the pan to start browning it.  It doesn’t need to cook all the way through.  This step is sort of optional, but I think it cuts the cooking time down.

.

(I doubled the recipe when I took these photos, so there’s a lot more chicken than normal).

.

Now comes the best part….

.

.

YES!!!  Pour the coke, cherry coke (optional, this makes the dish sweeter), and ketchup into the pan.  Stir until everything is throughly mixed.  Cover and simmer until chicken is cooked through.  Approx 10-15 minutes.

.

Once fully cooked, shred the chicken and return it to the pan.  Allow it to simmer covered for another 10 minutes.

.

.

Sometimes when I get to this point, all the liquid has been absorbed by the shredded chicken, so you can just add a little more coke, cherry coke, and ketchup.  I like to serve this on top of brown rice, and this time our veggie side was edamame.

.

.

And there you have an amazing dish made with my favorite beverage.  I have made this for my family, my parents, kids, and friends.  So far, everyone hands me empty plates and asks for more.  I guess that’s a winning dish!!

.

Enjoy!

.

Lizz

 

4 Responses to “Coke Chicken”

  1. Mara @ What's for Dinner? Says:

    Mmmmm coke chicken…..
    You gotta try it with orange soda, Ginger, and a pinch of red pepper… So good!

  2. Mom Says:

    I will admit that when she told me about this recipe I thought she was NUTS! That is until I made it (with DIET Coke) and everyone went crazy for it. I doubled the dobule recipe for a large crowd and had very little leftovers which my husband claimed for lunch. Skylar is the biggest fan and she gobbles it up every time. Thumbs up for Coke Chicken!!

  3. [...] I love Coca Cola.  I’ve even started cooking with it! (Check out this recipe for Coke Chicken, and this one for Devils Food Coke [...]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 168 other followers